Skip to content
Seat & Stake

Camping Mattresses · Guide

Camping Mattress R-Value: What It Measures and How Much You Need

R-value is the one number that says how well a mattress keeps the cold ground or cot from pulling heat out of your back. Here's what the standardized test measures, how the numbers add, and what 17 real mattresses publish.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes a score. How we score · Disclosure

Tents at a mountain campsite at sunrise
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product scored on this page.

What R-value is

R-value is a measure of thermal resistance. Therm-a-Rest puts it in one line: the higher the R-value, the more thermally resistant the material is. For a camping mattress, the heat you're losing goes down, from your back into the ground, a cot or a truck bed. Your sleeping bag can't stop that on its own, because the insulation under you is crushed flat by your weight; Therm-a-Rest notes that compressed down fails to create an insulating layer. The mattress has to do that job.

That's why R-value is part of how we score every mattress and pad in our camping mattress hub. It sits in the fit-and-comfort metric, next to thickness and width, and a mattress whose maker publishes no R-value earns nothing for it. The bands are on our methodology page.

The ASTM F3340 test

Before 2019, each brand tested R-value its own way, so a 4 from one maker and a 4 from another weren't the same thing. Work on an industry standard began in 2016, and NEMO says it helped develop it on a committee with other industry partners. Therm-a-Rest says ASTM F3340-18 was finalized and published in 2019, and that it gives an “apples-to-apples” comparison across the sleeping pad market; NEMO says the standard was ratified in fall 2019.

NEMO describes how the test works: it measures how much energy it takes to keep a hot plate at body temperature, with the pad between that plate and a cold surface. The result is a measure of heat flowing one way, from a warm body through the pad to the cold surface beneath it.

How much R-value you need

Sea to Summit's buying guide gives a simple scale:

Sea to Summit's suggested R-value by conditions (read 2026-09-22)
ConditionsSuggested R-value
Summer0 to 2
Cooler weather, down to a light frost2 to 3
Cold weather, hard frost3 to 4
Winter4 and up

These are a maker's guidelines, not a guarantee. People sleep warm or cold, a sleeping bag matters, and a cot loses heat differently from the ground. For a buy-once mattress, we'd lean toward more insulation than your typical trip needs: a higher R-value costs you weight and packed size, not warmth on a mild night, and it lets the same mattress cover the cold trips too.

Stacking pads: the numbers add

Both NEMO and Sea to Summit say R-value is additive: put two pads together and you add their ratings. Sea to Summit goes further and strongly recommends adding a closed-cell foam pad to an air mat for winter. Therm-a-Rest says the same of its closed-cell Z Lite SOL: lay it under another pad and it adds R 2.0 and protection from punctures.

That makes stacking the cheapest way to extend a mattress you already own. An R 4.7 air pad plus a Z Lite SOL is roughly R 6.7 on paper. It's also why many cot sleepers carry a thin foam pad as well as a mattress; our guide to staying warm on a cot walks through the layers.

What 17 mattresses publish

Here's every R-value published for the mattresses and pads in our registry, lowest to highest, with the maker's own wording on the test standard.

Published R-values, read from each maker's page on 2026-09-22
Mattress or padTypeR-valueStandard stated by the maker
Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOLClosed-cell foam pad2.0Product page FAQ cites ASTM F3340-18
ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore XLSelf-inflating pad2.9Not stated
Therm-a-Rest NeoLoftAir pad4.7Product page FAQ cites ASTM F3340-18
TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)Foam cot pad5.5 (6.2 Outfitter XXL)Not stated
Therm-a-Rest BaseCampSelf-inflating pad6Product page FAQ cites ASTM F3340-18
Therm-a-Rest MondoKing 3DSelf-inflating mattress7Product page FAQ cites ASTM F3340-18
NEMO RoamerSelf-inflating mattress7Not stated on the spec table
Sea to Summit Comfort Deluxe (single and double)Self-inflating mattress7.7“ASTM tested”
Exped MegaMat, MegaMat Duo, MegaMat AutoSelf-inflating mattress8.1Listed as “R-Value (ASTM)”
Exped MegaMat MaxSelf-inflating mattress10.6Listed as “R-Value (ASTM)”
Luno AIR BASE and AIR Truck BedAir mattressNot published (“3-Season”)
Napier Sportz, SoundAsleep Camping SeriesAir mattressNot published

Two patterns stand out. First, the thick self-inflating mattresses cluster at R 7 to 8.1, well past Sea to Summit's winter line. Second, none of the full-size air mattresses in our registry publishes an R-value at all. If warmth matters, that silence is the answer; see self-inflating vs air mattress for the rest of the trade.

What to look for

  • An ASTM figure on the maker's page. It's the only way to compare two brands directly. A number with no stated standard is still useful within that brand, but treat cross-brand gaps of less than a point with care.
  • More R-value than your usual trip needs. A mattress rated for winter works fine in summer. The reverse isn't true.
  • Foam if you're on a cot or in cold weather. A foam core keeps insulating if the shell leaks.
  • A closed-cell pad for the gaps. Stacking is the cheap way to add warmth, and it protects the mattress on top from punctures.

Our picks for this

Picks across the R-value range

Four mattresses and pads whose makers publish an R-value and a lifetime or 5-year warranty, from the warmest mattress we score to the foam pad you stack under anything.

  • Illustrative stock photo: a man pumping up an air mattress in a park
    Stock photo

    Best for side sleepers and bad backs

    Exped MegaMat Max Self-Inflating Mat (LXW)

    5-yr warranty7.8/10

    The warmest mattress we score: Exped lists an ASTM R-value of 10.6 on 15 cm (5.9 in) of foam, with a 5-year warranty.

    Check price on Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Exped MegaMat Max Self-Inflating Mat (LXW)

  • Illustrative stock photo: a man pumping up an air mattress in a park
    Stock photo

    Best overall camping mattress

    Therm-a-Rest MondoKing 3D Sleeping Pad (Large)

    Lifetime warranty8.3/10

    R 7 on 4.25 inches of foam with a limited lifetime warranty; our top-scoring camping mattress.

    Check price on Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest MondoKing 3D Sleeping Pad (Large)

  • Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
    Stock photo

    Best insulated pad for a cot

    Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)

    Lifetime warranty8.1/10

    R 6 in a 2-inch pad, with a do-it-yourself valve repair kit sold separately; a good fit for cots.

    Check price on Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)

  • Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
    Stock photo

    Best closed-cell under-layer

    Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)

    Lifetime warranty5.6/10

    R 2.0 closed-cell foam at 14 oz; Therm-a-Rest says it adds R 2.0 and puncture protection under another pad.

    Check price on Amazon

    #ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)

R-value on a cot

A cot changes the math. You're off the ground, but the air under the cot moves, and the cot fabric is a single layer, not insulation. So the pad on a cot carries all the insulation. Our best cot pads rankings list pads by R-value and width, and cot vs sleeping pad covers when you need both. For the full mattress rankings, including where each R-value lands in the score, see our best camping mattresses, and for the rest of the buying decision, how to choose a camping mattress.

How we scored this

Products we claim to have tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they sat in every chair on the list for a season. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's rated capacity, frame, fabric, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether seat fabric, cot canvas, feet, valves and legs are sold as replacement parts; and score all of it on a published rubric where durability and warranty carry half the weight. Every spec links to where it came from.

Scores are computed from that documented research with fixed bands, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its bands are published.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is a good R-value for a camping mattress?
Is a higher R-value always warmer?
Can you add R-values together?
What is ASTM F3340?
Do air mattresses have an R-value?
Why does Amazon show a different R-value?

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

We don't claim to have tested, owned or sat in these products. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Specs and rated capacities come from the maker's own product pages (or a named dealer's copy when the maker's site blocked us), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and any third-party observation is attributed to whoever made it. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so and it scores zero. Read the full method.

More in Camping Mattresses