Skip to content
Seat & Stake

Camping Mattresses · The rankings

Best Sleeping Pads for Car Camping (2026)

When weight stops mattering, warmth, width and repairability start. Five pads ranked on published R-value, thickness and face fabric, and on whether the maker will sell you the valve when it fails.

#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes a score. How we score · Disclosure

Quick picks

The rankings at a glance

#ProductBest forScorePrice
1
Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)

R-value 6 at 2 inches on 75D polyester, a limited lifetime warranty, and the only pad here with a WingLock Valve Repair Kit you fit yourself. Large is 77 x 25 in, XLarge 77 x 30 in.

Best car-camping pad overallLifetime warranty8.1out of 10Check price on Amazon
2
Illustrative stock photo: an inflatable pillow resting on a sleeping pad inside a tent
TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)

Up to 82 x 38 inches of 285D brushed canvas over 2 to 2.5 inches of foam, R-value 5.5 to 6.2, with a removable washable cover, straps for a cot and a lifetime warranty.

Best wide foam padLifetime warranty7.9out of 10Check price on Amazon
3
Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Therm-a-Rest NeoLoft Sleeping Pad (Regular Wide)

4.6 inches of air with raised side rails at 1 lb 14 oz, R-value 4.7, limited lifetime warranty. All air, so no foam backup if it punctures.

Best thickness for a side sleeperLifetime warranty7.9out of 10Check price on Amazon
4
Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large)

77 x 30 inches of self-inflating foam, 2 inches thick, R-value 2.9, with double brass valves, a lifetime defect warranty and a Flexcore repair kit sold separately.

Best budget wide padLifetime warranty6.0out of 10Check price on Amazon
5
Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)

14 ounces of closed-cell foam that Therm-a-Rest says adds R 2.0 and puncture protection when layered under another pad. It cannot go flat.

Best pad to put underneath anotherLifetime warranty5.6out of 10Check price on Amazon

#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, computed from published specs, quoted warranty terms and listed parts with the bands on our methodology page, not our own measurements. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

An SUV parked beside a tent in a forest
Illustrative stock photo. It does not show a specific product scored on this page.

How we picked

These are pads: foam or air sleeping pads you unroll on a tent floor, a truck bed or a cot, up to about 2.5 inches thick, chosen for a trip where weight is not the constraint. The order follows our Built-to-Last Score for mattresses and pads, which weighs face-fabric denier, the written warranty, repairability, then fit (R-value, thickness and width) and weight. The bands are on our methodology page. We have not slept on these; every figure links to its source.

If you want the 4 to 6-inch self-inflating mattresses instead — MegaMat, MondoKing, Comfort Deluxe, Roamer — those are ranked separately in our camping mattress rankings. This page is the honest middle: more warmth and more repairability than a backpacking pad, less bulk and less money than a mattress.

Pad or mattress for car camping?

The real question behind the query. A pad is 2 inches or less, packs to a 26 to 31-inch roll, usually costs less and is the right answer if you also use it on a cot or in a truck bed. A mattress is 4 inches or more, packs to a bigger roll, is noticeably more comfortable on hard ground and is the right answer if the tent is the only place it goes.

There is one exception worth knowing: on a cot, a pad beats a mattress. The deck already lifts you off the ground, so the job is insulation rather than cushioning, and a thick mattress on a cot is unstable and sits against rivets and buckles. Our cot pad rankings cover that case specifically, and our cots with a mattress page covers the pairings.

The five, side by side

EvidenceTherm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)Therm-a-Rest NeoLoft Sleeping Pad (Regular Wide)
R-value6 (Therm-a-Rest tech specs; the product page FAQ cites the ASTM F3340-18 standard)5.5 (Universal XL); 6.2 (Outfitter XXL); ASTM not stated4.7 (Therm-a-Rest tech specs; the product page FAQ cites the ASTM F3340-18 standard)
Thickness2 in (5 cm)2 in foam (Universal XL); 2.5 in (Outfitter XXL)4.6 in (11.7 cm)
Sleeping surfaceLarge 77 x 25 in; Regular 72 x 20 in; XLarge 77 x 30 inUniversal XL 80 x 30 in; Outfitter XXL 82 x 38 in; Adventurer 75 x 24 inRegular Wide 73 x 26 in; Regular 73 x 22 in; Large 78 x 26 in
Fabric75D polyester top and bottom100% polyester 285D brushed canvas (a feature panel on the same page says 300D polyester canvas)Top: 50D polyester knit; bottom: 75D solution-dyed polyester
WeightLarge 3 lb 6 oz (1.53 kg); Regular 2 lb 8 oz; XLarge 4 lbUniversal XL 5.3 lb item weight; Outfitter XXL 7.7 lbRegular Wide 1 lb 14 oz (850 g); Regular 1 lb 9 oz; Large 2 lb
Packed sizeLarge 26 x 9 in; XLarge 31 x 9 inUniversal XL 31.5 x 10.25 x 10.25 inRegular Wide 11.5 x 6.0 in
WarrantyLimited lifetime (Therm-a-Rest)Limited lifetime (TETON)Limited lifetime (Therm-a-Rest)
PartsTherm-a-Rest sells a WingLock Valve Repair Kit plus Permanent Home and Instant Field repair kits, publishes how-to videos for each, and repairs pads for a fee.TETON sells replacement camp pad covers through its Customer Experience team (by email); replacement foam is not sold.A repair kit comes in the box and Therm-a-Rest sells Permanent Home and Instant Field repair kits; its TwinLock valve has no listed replacement kit, so valve issues go to the warranty & repair team.
Score8.1/107.9/107.9/10
Picks one to three. Therm-a-Rest cites the ASTM F3340 standard for its R-values; TETON does not state a standard.
EvidenceALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large)Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)
R-value2.9 (ALPS; ASTM not stated)2.0 (Therm-a-Rest; the product page FAQ cites the ASTM F3340-18 standard)
Thickness2 in0.75 in (2 cm)
Sleeping surfaceX-Large 77 x 30 in; Long 77 x 25 in; Regular 72 x 20 inRegular 72 x 20 in; Small 51 x 20 in
FabricPolyester ripstop top, polyester taffeta bottom (denier not published)None: molded closed-cell crosslinked polyethylene foam with ThermaCapture reflective coating
WeightX-Large 4 lb 9 oz; Long 3 lb 11 oz; Regular 2 lb 11 ozRegular 14 oz (0.41 kg); Small 10 oz
Packed sizeX-Large 31 x 7 inRegular 20 x 5 x 5.5 in (accordion fold)
WarrantyLifetime (ALPS Mountaineering)Limited lifetime (Therm-a-Rest)
PartsALPS includes a repair kit and sells a Flexcore Repair Kit (7730083) separately; other parts by phone, availability not guaranteed.The maker lists no replacement parts for this model (it has no valve or fabric); Therm-a-Rest's warranty page offers fee-based repair by request.
Score6.0/105.6/10
Picks four and five: the budget wide pad and the closed-cell layer that goes underneath.

How much R-value you need

R-value measures resistance to heat loss downward, and it is the only number on this page that changes whether you sleep. Car camping usually means a tent on grass, gravel or a pad in a vehicle, and the ground keeps taking heat all night regardless of the air temperature.

A usable rule of thumb from the published figures: R 2 to 3 is a summer pad, R 4 to 5 covers three seasons, and R 6 and up is what you want if you camp into frost. The pads here are R 6 (BaseCamp), R 5.5 to 6.2 (TETON Canvas Camp Pad), R 4.7 (NeoLoft), R 2.9 (ALPS Flexcore) and R 2.0 (Z Lite SOL). Our guide to what R-value measures covers the ASTM F3340 standard and why two makers' numbers are not always comparable.

Why the BaseCamp is first

Repairability, and then warmth. Therm-a-Rest sells a WingLock Valve Repair Kit described as a do-it-yourself kit for replacing the valve, plus Permanent Home and Instant Field repair kits, and it publishes how-to videos for each. A self-inflating pad's valve is the part that fails, and the BaseCamp is the only pad in our whole registry whose valve you can replace yourself.

On top of that: an R-value of 6 at just 2 inches thick, 75D polyester top and bottom (the heaviest fabric of the Therm-a-Rest pads here), sizes to 77 x 30 inches, a limited lifetime warranty and made-in-USA construction. It is 3 lb 6 oz in Large, which matters not at all in a car.

The trade is thickness. Two inches of foam is enough on a cot or a truck bed, and thin on a rooty tent floor if you sleep on your side. That is the one case where a thicker pad or a mattress genuinely wins, and our side sleeper rankings are built around it.

The rest of the list

TETON Canvas Camp Pad (#2). The widest and most domestic-feeling pad we score: 80 x 30 inches in Universal XL or 82 x 38 inches in Outfitter XXL, 2 to 2.5 inches of foam under 285D brushed canvas, R 5.5 to 6.2, with a removable washable cover, a carry handle, compression straps and slip-resistant loops that strap it to a cot's end bars. Lifetime warranty, and TETON sells replacement covers (though not replacement foam). It is 5.3 to 7.7 lb and bulky, which is exactly the trade car camping lets you make.

Therm-a-Rest NeoLoft (#3). 4.6 inches thick with raised side rails, at 1 lb 14 oz in Regular Wide, R 4.7, limited lifetime warranty, repair kit in the box. It is the most comfortable pad here for a side sleeper and the only all-air one, so a puncture leaves you on the ground rather than on flattened foam. Therm-a-Rest lists no replacement for its TwinLock valve, so valve trouble goes to the repair team.

ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore XL (#4). The value option: 77 x 30 inches, 2 inches of self-inflating foam, R 2.9, double brass valves, compression straps, stuff sack and a repair kit included, with a lifetime defect warranty and a separate Flexcore repair kit sold. Its R-value is summer-rated, which is what a closed-cell pad underneath is for.

Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL (#5). Not a standalone car-camping pad, and on this page for two reasons: it cannot puncture, and Therm-a-Rest states it adds R 2.0 under another pad. 14 ounces, 0.75 inches, accordion-folds to 20 x 5 x 5.5 inches. Keep it in the car permanently.

What didn't make the list

  • Exped MegaMat, Therm-a-Rest MondoKing, Sea to Summit Comfort Deluxe, NEMO Roamer. All better beds than anything here, and all 4 inches or thicker, which makes them mattresses rather than pads. They are ranked in our camping mattress rankings, and the two best are compared head to head in MegaMat vs MondoKing.
  • Queen air mattresses. Cheap, comfortable and cold: no published R-value, and a puncture ends the night. See self-inflating vs air mattress.
  • Vehicle-specific mattresses. If you sleep in the car rather than beside it, a fitted truck-bed or SUV mattress is a better answer: see truck bed and SUV mattresses.
  • Ultralight backpacking pads. Excellent gear, wrong tool. Paying for 12-ounce weight savings you do not need costs you warmth, width and durability.

In detail

The picks, in full

Rank 1

Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Stock photo

Best car-camping pad overall

Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)

Sleeping padLifetime warranty8.1out of 10

R-value 6 at 2 inches on 75D polyester, a limited lifetime warranty, and the only pad here with a WingLock Valve Repair Kit you fit yourself. Large is 77 x 25 in, XLarge 77 x 30 in.

How the 8.1 score breaks down
Build durability (25%)
8
Warranty (20%)
10
Repairability (15%)
10
Fit & comfort (30%)
6
Portability (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • Therm-a-Rest sells the valve kit and patch kits, publishes how-to videos and repairs pads for a fee.
  • R-value of 6 from 2 inches of self-inflating foam.
  • 75D polyester on both faces and a limited lifetime warranty.
  • XLarge size is 77 x 30 inches.

Where it falls short

  • 2 inches thick, thin next to the 4-inch camp mattresses.
  • Plain 75D polyester top rather than a knit.
  • Stuff sack only; no pump sack in the box.

Skip this if…

…you sleep on the ground and want mattress-level cushioning; the BaseCamp is 2 inches thick.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)

Rank 2

Illustrative stock photo: an inflatable pillow resting on a sleeping pad inside a tent
Stock photo

Best wide foam pad

TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)

Cot padLifetime warranty7.9out of 10

Up to 82 x 38 inches of 285D brushed canvas over 2 to 2.5 inches of foam, R-value 5.5 to 6.2, with a removable washable cover, straps for a cot and a lifetime warranty.

How the 7.9 score breaks down
Build durability (25%)
9
Warranty (20%)
10
Repairability (15%)
7
Fit & comfort (30%)
6
Portability (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • Sized to TETON's cots, with straps that attach to the cot's end bars.
  • 285D brushed canvas cover over foam, and TETON sells replacement covers.
  • Lifetime warranty; R-value of 5.5 (6.2 on the Outfitter XXL).

Where it falls short

  • 2 inches of foam on the Universal XL.
  • The Outfitter XXL size was sold out on TETON's site on 2026-09-22.
  • Replacement foam is not sold, and covers are ordered by email rather than online.

Skip this if…

…your cot is narrower than 30 inches; the Universal XL pad is 30 inches wide.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)

Rank 3

Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Stock photo

Best thickness for a side sleeper

Therm-a-Rest NeoLoft Sleeping Pad (Regular Wide)

Sleeping padLifetime warranty7.9out of 10

4.6 inches of air with raised side rails at 1 lb 14 oz, R-value 4.7, limited lifetime warranty. All air, so no foam backup if it punctures.

How the 7.9 score breaks down
Build durability (25%)
7
Warranty (20%)
10
Repairability (15%)
5
Fit & comfort (30%)
8
Portability (10%)
10

What the specs support

  • 4.6 inches thick at 1 lb 14 oz, packing to 11.5 x 6 inches.
  • Knit top over a 75D base, with raised side rails.
  • Limited lifetime warranty with a repair kit in the box.

Where it falls short

  • Air-only core: a puncture leaves you on the ground until it is patched.
  • R-value of 4.7 is lower than the foam camp mattresses.
  • No do-it-yourself TwinLock valve kit listed.

Skip this if…

…you camp where thorns or sharp gravel are common and don't carry a patch kit; the NeoLoft has no foam backup.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest NeoLoft Sleeping Pad (Regular Wide)

Rank 4

Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Stock photo

Best budget wide pad

ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large)

Sleeping padLifetime warranty6.0out of 10

77 x 30 inches of self-inflating foam, 2 inches thick, R-value 2.9, with double brass valves, a lifetime defect warranty and a Flexcore repair kit sold separately.

Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us

CategorySleeping pad
Warranty (quoted)Lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering)
Wear partsALPS includes a repair kit and sells a Flexcore Repair Kit (7730083) separately; other parts by phone, availability not guaranteed.
FabricPolyester ripstop top, polyester taffeta bottom (denier not published)
Sleeping surfaceX-Large 77 x 30 in; Long 77 x 25 in; Regular 72 x 20 in
Thickness2 in
R-value2.9 (ALPS; ASTM not stated)
WeightX-Large 4 lb 9 oz; Long 3 lb 11 oz; Regular 2 lb 11 oz
Packed sizeX-Large 31 x 7 in
FeaturesJet Stream open-cell, hexagon-cored foam; double brass valves on XL; compression straps, stuff sack and repair kit included
Replacement partsFlexcore Repair Kit (7730083): two 2-inch patches and adhesive
How the 6.0 score breaks down
Build durability (25%)
5
Warranty (20%)
10
Repairability (15%)
5
Fit & comfort (30%)
4
Portability (10%)
8

What the specs support

  • 30 inches wide and 77 inches long in X-Large.
  • Lifetime warranty, and ALPS sells a repair kit for the Flexcore line.
  • Self-inflating foam core with double brass valves on the XL.

Where it falls short

  • R-value of 2.9 is low for cold nights.
  • 2 inches thick; fabric denier not published.
  • No replacement valve listed.

Skip this if…

…you camp below freezing; ALPS rates it R 2.9.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large)

Rank 5

Illustrative stock photo: a sleeping pad, an inflatable pillow and cookware inside a tent
Stock photo

Best pad to put underneath another

Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)

Sleeping padLifetime warranty5.6out of 10

14 ounces of closed-cell foam that Therm-a-Rest says adds R 2.0 and puncture protection when layered under another pad. It cannot go flat.

How the 5.6 score breaks down
Build durability (25%)
5
Warranty (20%)
10
Repairability (15%)
3
Fit & comfort (30%)
3
Portability (10%)
10

What the specs support

  • Closed-cell foam cannot puncture or deflate.
  • 14 oz and folds flat; Therm-a-Rest markets it as an under-layer that adds R 2.0.
  • Limited lifetime warranty.

Where it falls short

  • 0.75 inches thick and 20 inches wide: firm and narrow on its own.
  • R-value of 2.0 alone is warm-weather insulation.
  • The accordion fold is bulky compared with a rolled inflatable.

Skip this if…

…you want it as your only padding on a cold night; Therm-a-Rest rates it R 2.0 and pitches it for layering.

Check price on Amazon

#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)

How to choose a sleeping pad for car camping

Buy width before you buy thickness

A 20-inch pad is a backpacking dimension. In a tent you drive to, 25 inches is comfortable and 30 inches is transformative, because your arms and hips stop finding the cold floor. Three of the five pads here come in 30-inch widths and TETON's XXL is 38 inches.

Match the R-value to your worst night, not your average one

You cannot add warmth at 2am, but you can always unzip a bag. Buy for the coldest trip you will take, or buy a summer pad plus a closed-cell layer and carry both.

Foam if it goes on a cot or a truck bed

Self-inflating and solid-foam pads still support you when they lose air, and they sit stably on a taut cot deck. All air pads are more comfortable per ounce and less forgiving. On a cot, foam every time.

Find out whether the valve is a part

This is the difference between a pad that lasts a decade and one that is rubbish in year four. Therm-a-Rest sells a WingLock valve kit for the BaseCamp; Exped, Sea to Summit and NEMO handle valve problems as repairs by request; TETON sells pad covers but not foam. Our leak repair guide shows what you can fix yourself.

Store it unrolled and open

A self-inflating pad stored rolled tight loses loft; the makers all say to store it open with the valve open. In a garage this costs nothing and adds years, and it is the single most effective thing on this page.

Then read the width of your cot, if you have one

A 30-inch pad on a 28-inch cot folds at the rails. Check the deck width first: our cot rankings list every published sleeping surface.

How we scored this

Products we claim to have tested: 0

Plenty of sites say they sat in every chair on the list for a season. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's rated capacity, frame, fabric, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether seat fabric, cot canvas, feet, valves and legs are sold as replacement parts; and score all of it on a published rubric where durability and warranty carry half the weight. Every spec links to where it came from.

Scores are computed from that documented research with fixed bands, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its bands are published.

Corrections & updates

  • First published from the existing pad records; no product specs were changed.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is the best sleeping pad for car camping?
Do you need a sleeping pad for car camping?
What R-value do I need for car camping?
Is a sleeping pad or an air mattress better for car camping?
How thick should a car camping pad be?
Can you use a car camping pad on a cot?

Keep reading

Receipts

Sources

We don't claim to have tested, owned or sat in these products. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Specs and rated capacities come from the maker's own product pages (or a named dealer's copy when the maker's site blocked us), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and any third-party observation is attributed to whoever made it. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so and it scores zero. Read the full method.

More in Camping Mattresses