Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() ALPS Mountaineering King Kong Chair Rated to 800 lb by ALPS on a powder-coated steel frame with quilted 600D polyester, a 24-inch-wide seat 19 inches off the ground and a limited lifetime warranty. | Best camp chair overallLifetime warranty | 7.6out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Helinox Chair One The original packable chair is rated to 320 lb by Helinox, weighs 1 lb 15 oz, packs to 14 x 4.5 x 4.5 inches, and Helinox sells its replacement seat, feet and case. | Best packable chair5-yr warranty | 7.2out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair A 500 lb-rated steel quad chair with 600-denier polyester, a 23-inch seat 20 inches off the ground, 11.5 lb, and a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear from Sportsman's Guide. | Best tall-seat quad chairLifetime warranty | 7.1out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair A frame-integrated lumbar support, 18-inch seat height and steel-framed armrests on a 300 lb-rated steel chair with 600D fabric; the warranty is 2 years on Amazon purchases. | Best for back support2-yr warranty | 6.6out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair A steel-frame camp chair with an included footrest, a 30-inch backrest and ALPS's limited lifetime warranty, but ALPS rates it to only 225 lb. | Best with a footrestLifetime warranty | 6.6out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() ALPS Mountaineering Rocking Chair A folding steel rocker with 600D polyester, rated to 300 lb and covered by ALPS's lifetime-of-the-product warranty, but it weighs 17.5 lb and folds to 47 inches long. | Best rocking chairLifetime warranty | 6.2out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() YETI Trailhead Camp Chair YETI rates its FlexGrid mesh to 500 lb and backs the chair with a five-year warranty, but it weighs 13.3 lb and YETI lists no replacement parts. | Best premium mesh chair5-yr warranty | 5.9out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 8 | ![]() Kelty Deluxe Lounge Chair A three-position reclining camp chair rated to 400 lb by Kelty, with quilted 600D polyester and a 19-inch seat height; Kelty covers furniture for one year. | Best reclining chair1-yr warranty | 5.8out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, computed from published specs, quoted warranty terms and listed parts with the bands on our methodology page, not our own measurements. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

How we picked
Every chair on this page was scored from the maker's own spec page and written warranty, read on 2026-09-22, using the five-part Built-to-Last rubric: build durability 30%, warranty 20%, repairability 15%, fit and comfort 20%, portability 15%. Capacity is always the maker's rating, and a figure the maker doesn't publish scores as missing instead of being guessed. The bands are on our scoring methodology page, and nothing here was sat in by us.
This is the list for the folding chair that lives in the truck and comes out at every campsite, ball field and backyard fire. It picks one chair per job, ranked by overall score, with ties broken by build durability. For the whole category, including guides on weight limits and warranties, start at our camping chairs hub.
The numbers, side by side
Durability rows come first because they decide how long a chair lasts. Every value links to the page it came from, and a dash means the maker doesn't publish it.
| Evidence | ALPS Mountaineering King Kong Chair | Helinox Chair One | Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair | STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rated capacity | 800 lb (ALPS rating) | 320 lb (Helinox rating) | 500 lb (Guide Gear rating) | 300 lb (STRONGBACK rating) |
| Frame | Powder-coated steel | DAC TH72M aluminum alloy with nylon resin hubs, shock-corded poles | Steel tube | Black powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | Quilted 600D polyester | bluesign-certified recycled 600D polyester (OlWeave 600D Oxford) with mesh panels | 600-denier polyester | 600D polyester |
| Seat height | 19 in | — | 20 in | 18 in |
| Weight | 13 lb | 1 lb 15 oz (893 g); 2 lb 2 oz (965 g) packed | 11.5 lb | 11.9 lb |
| Packed size | 40 x 8 x 9 in | 14 x 4.5 x 4.5 in zippered case | Not published | Not published |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering) | 5-year warranty against manufacturing defects (Helinox) | Lifetime Guarantee on Guide Gear (Sportsman's Guide) | 2-year warranty on Amazon purchases; 3-year limited when bought direct (fabric limited to 1 year) |
| Parts | ALPS lists a replacement carry bag for the King Kong; seat fabric and frame parts are not listed (call ALPS customer service for parts). | Helinox sells a Chair One replacement seat, a set of 4 replacement rubber feet and a replacement case; broken poles are handled through its warranty team and service center. | Sportsman's Guide lists no replacement parts for this chair. | STRONGBACK lists a replacement Elite carry bag and an upgraded cup holder and pocket for the Elite; the warranty covers replacement parts for frame, hinge and fabric defects. |
| Score | 7.6/10 | 7.2/10 | 7.1/10 | 6.6/10 |
Why the King Kong wins
The King Kong leads on the two things that are hardest to fix after you buy: how much load the frame is rated for, and who stands behind it. ALPS rates it to 800 lb, the highest rating on this page, and puts quilted 600D polyester on the seat, which clears the fabric bonus in our rubric. That earns a perfect 10 for build durability. ALPS's warranty covers defects for the life of the product, the top warranty band, and it comes from the maker, not a retailer.
It isn't perfect. ALPS lists a replacement carry bag for the King Kong but no replacement seat, so its repairability score of 5 rests on a bag, plus parts ALPS says it can sometimes supply by phone. It weighs 13 lb and packs to 40 inches long. And ALPS doesn't publish an overall height, only a 22-inch backrest, so the chair misses the high-back point in our fit score. What it does publish is a 24-inch-wide seat 19 inches off the ground, roomy numbers for bigger campers.
The closest challenger is the Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair at 7.1. It beats the King Kong on seat height (20 inches), overall height (39 inches), padding on the neck and shoulders, and weight (11.5 lb). It loses on rating (500 lb), on parts (none listed), and on the warranty's paper trail: the lifetime guarantee is Sportsman's Guide's promise on its own house brand, and the guarantee page doesn't say whether a Guide Gear chair bought on Amazon qualifies. If you want a taller seat and a lighter chair and you're well under 500 lb, it's a strong second choice. Both chairs rank again, against every other chair rated 400 lb or more, in our heavy-duty camping chair picks.
The case for a chair you can rebuild
The second-highest score on the page goes to a chair that looks nothing like a quad chair. The Helinox Chair One scores 7.2 because Helinox does something no other maker on this page does: it sells the part that wears out. Helinox lists a Chair One replacement seat, a set of four replacement feet and a replacement case, and its FAQ says a broken pole goes to its warranty team for a replacement pole or a service-center repair. That earns a 9 for repairability, the highest on this page. Add a 600D recycled polyester seat, a 320 lb rating, a 5-year warranty and a weight of 1 lb 15 oz, and it scores well on almost everything the rubric measures.
The catch is fit. Helinox publishes no seat height or seat width, and the chair stands 25.5 inches tall assembled, so there is no head or upper-back support. It scores 4 of 10 for fit and comfort, the lowest on the list. Buy it if your chair travels in a pack, a kayak or a small trunk; skip it if you want to lean back by the fire for three hours. Its lighter sibling and bigger alternatives are ranked in our compact camping chair picks, and the choice between the two best-known Helinox models is laid out in Helinox Chair One vs Chair Zero.
Back support, feet up, rocking and recline
Four picks exist because a general-purpose quad chair doesn't fit every body or every evening.
Back support: STRONGBACK Elite (6.6)
The STRONGBACK Elite has the only perfect fit score on the page. STRONGBACK builds a lumbar support into the frame, adds a padded lumbar cushion, and uses steel-framed armrests you can push against to stand. The seat is 23 inches wide and 18 inches high, and the chair is 36.5 inches tall. The trade-offs are a 300 lb rating and the warranty's fine print: 2 years on Amazon purchases sold by Amazon or STRONGBACK (3 years bought direct), fabric limited to one year, and rust excluded. It ties the Escape at 6.6 and ranks ahead on build durability. If your back decides which chair you buy, see our picks for bad backs.
Feet up: ALPS Mountaineering Escape (6.6)
The ALPS Escape comes with a footrest, a 30-inch backrest and ALPS's limited lifetime warranty, and ALPS lists a replacement kickstand elbow for it. The problem is the rating: ALPS rates it to 225 lb, the lowest on the page. The seat also slopes from 17.5 inches at the front to 14 inches at the back. It's a chair for a lighter camper who wants to stretch out. Every chair we could verify with a foot or leg rest is in our camping chairs with footrest picks.
Rocking: ALPS Mountaineering Rocking Chair (6.2)
The ALPS Rocking Chair pairs a 300 lb rating and 600D polyester with the same lifetime-of-the-product warranty as the King Kong. It locks both folded and open, and its seat sits 21 inches high at the front edge. It's also the heaviest chair here at 17 lb 8 oz, and it folds to 47 inches long. The spring-action GCI rockers it beat are ranked in our rocking camping chair picks.
Recline: Kelty Deluxe Lounge (5.8)
The Kelty Deluxe Lounge reclines to three positions on a powder-coated steel frame that Kelty rates to 400 lb, with quilted 600D polyester and a 19-inch seat height. Kelty covers its furniture for one year, but it runs an in-house repair team and says damage outside warranty may be repaired for a reasonable rate. That repair path is worth more than it looks when the alternative is a chair in the trash.
Where the YETI Trailhead lands, and why
The YETI Trailhead is the chair people ask about most, and it ranks seventh. YETI rates its FlexGrid fabric to 500 lb, says the fabric is UV resistant, and gives the chair a five-year warranty, longer than the one-year terms Coleman, Kijaro and Kelty put on their chairs. Those are real strengths. But YETI publishes no fabric denier and no seat height (CleverHiker reports 16.75 inches, the lowest front seat height on this page), lists no replacement parts, and excludes punctures from the warranty. A torn seat means contacting YETI's Outfitter team about a repair, not ordering a part. At 13.3 lb and 43 inches long folded, it's no lighter than the King Kong either.
Its score of 5.9 is 1.7 points below the King Kong, and most of the gap sits in build durability (8 vs 10), warranty (7 vs 10) and repairability (3 vs 5), with one more point lost on fit. The two go line by line in ALPS King Kong vs YETI Trailhead, and whether it earns its premium is weighed in our YETI Trailhead review.
What we left out, and why
Because this list picks one chair per job, several chairs that outscore the bottom three here live on their own pages. The Guide Gear Oversized Club Chair (6.9) is the padded twin of the Oversized Camp Chair, with the same 500 lb rating, 600-denier fabric and guarantee; it ranks on the heavy-duty and bad-back pages. The Helinox Chair One XL (6.9) and NEMO Moonlite (6.8) are packable chairs covered on the compact page. The ALPS King Kong Loveseat (6.7) seats two and is in our double camping chair picks. The Guide Gear Oversized Tall Director's Chair (6.6) has the highest published seat in our registry at 22 inches and leads our high-seat camping chair picks.
Some chairs didn't make it on durability grounds. Coleman's Big & Tall Quad carries a 600 lb rating but a one-year warranty, and Coleman's parts catalog covers tents, grills, coolers and lighting, not chairs (5.3). The LivingXL 1000-lb chair has the highest rating we found, but DXL publishes no warranty for it, only a 90-day return policy (5.2). The Kijaro Dual Lock XXL is rated to 400 lb with a tall 38.98-inch back, but Kijaro covers it for one year and excludes UV damage (5.3).
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best camp chair overall
ALPS Mountaineering King Kong Chair
Rated to 800 lb by ALPS on a powder-coated steel frame with quilted 600D polyester, a 24-inch-wide seat 19 inches off the ground and a limited lifetime warranty.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Heavy-duty chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering) |
| Wear parts | ALPS lists a replacement carry bag for the King Kong; seat fabric and frame parts are not listed (call ALPS customer service for parts). |
| Rated capacity | 800 lb (ALPS rating) |
| Frame | Powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | Quilted 600D polyester |
| Seat height | 19 in |
| Seat width | 24 in (seat depth 20 in; backrest height 22 in) |
| Overall height | Not published (ALPS lists backrest height only) |
| Weight | 13 lb |
| Packed size | 40 x 8 x 9 in |
| Replacement parts | Replacement carry bag listed ("King Kong & Kodiak"); other parts by phone |
How the 7.6 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 10
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 6
- Portability (15%)
- 4
What the specs support
- Highest rated capacity of any steel quad chair in this registry: 800 lb, per ALPS.
- 600D polyester seat fabric, which earns the heavy-fabric bonus in our build score.
- Limited lifetime warranty from ALPS, the top warranty band.
- 19-inch seat height and 24-inch seat width suit bigger and taller campers.
Where it falls short
- 13 lb and 40 inches long packed, heavier than a mesh quad.
- ALPS lists only a replacement carry bag for this model; there is no listed replacement seat.
- The warranty excludes UV damage and burns, so sun-faded or ember-holed fabric is on you.
Skip this if…
…you carry your chair more than a few hundred feet from the car, since it weighs 13 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ALPS Mountaineering King Kong Chair
Rank 2

Best packable chair
Helinox Chair One
The original packable chair is rated to 320 lb by Helinox, weighs 1 lb 15 oz, packs to 14 x 4.5 x 4.5 inches, and Helinox sells its replacement seat, feet and case.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Compact chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | 5-year warranty against manufacturing defects (Helinox) |
| Wear parts | Helinox sells a Chair One replacement seat, a set of 4 replacement rubber feet and a replacement case; broken poles are handled through its warranty team and service center. |
| Rated capacity | 320 lb (Helinox rating) |
| Frame | DAC TH72M aluminum alloy with nylon resin hubs, shock-corded poles |
| Fabric | bluesign-certified recycled 600D polyester (OlWeave 600D Oxford) with mesh panels |
| Overall height | 25.5 in (assembled 20.5 W x 20 D in) |
| Weight | 1 lb 15 oz (893 g); 2 lb 2 oz (965 g) packed |
| Packed size | 14 x 4.5 x 4.5 in zippered case |
| Replacement parts | Replacement seat, rubber feet (set of 4), replacement case |
How the 7.2 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 7
- Warranty (20%)
- 7
- Repairability (15%)
- 9
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 4
- Portability (15%)
- 10
What the specs support
- Packs to 14 x 4.5 x 4.5 inches and weighs under 2 lb (Helinox)
- 600D recycled polyester seat on a DAC aluminum frame, rated to 320 lb
- Helinox sells the replacement seat, feet and case, and its FAQ says broken poles can be repaired at its service center
Where it falls short
- 25.5-inch overall height: no head or upper-back support
- Helinox publishes no seat height or seat width
- 5-year warranty, shorter than NEMO's and Big Agnes's lifetime coverage
Skip this if…
…you need a high back or a tall seat to get in and out of easily.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Helinox Chair One
Rank 3

Best tall-seat quad chair
Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair
A 500 lb-rated steel quad chair with 600-denier polyester, a 23-inch seat 20 inches off the ground, 11.5 lb, and a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear from Sportsman's Guide.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Heavy-duty chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Lifetime Guarantee on Guide Gear (Sportsman's Guide) |
| Wear parts | Sportsman's Guide lists no replacement parts for this chair. |
| Rated capacity | 500 lb (Guide Gear rating) |
| Frame | Steel tube |
| Fabric | 600-denier polyester |
| Seat height | 20 in |
| Seat width | 23 in (seat 19 x 23 in W) |
| Overall height | 39 in (36 x 24 x 39 in) |
| Weight | 11.5 lb |
| Packed size | Not published |
| Features | Padding on neck and shoulders; hanging storage pouches; zip pocket in armrest |
| Replacement parts | None listed |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 9
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 0
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- 500 lb rating, 600-denier polyester and a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear.
- 20-inch seat height and 23-inch seat width.
- 11.5 lb, lighter than the other 500 lb chairs in this registry.
Where it falls short
- The guarantee is published on Sportsman's Guide's own site and does not say whether Amazon purchases qualify.
- No replacement parts listed.
- Packed size not published.
Skip this if…
…you need a guaranteed repair path, since no parts are listed for this chair.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair
Rank 4

Best for back support
STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair
A frame-integrated lumbar support, 18-inch seat height and steel-framed armrests on a 300 lb-rated steel chair with 600D fabric; the warranty is 2 years on Amazon purchases.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Camp chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | 2-year warranty on Amazon purchases; 3-year limited when bought direct (fabric limited to 1 year) |
| Wear parts | STRONGBACK lists a replacement Elite carry bag and an upgraded cup holder and pocket for the Elite; the warranty covers replacement parts for frame, hinge and fabric defects. |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb (STRONGBACK rating) |
| Frame | Black powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester |
| Seat height | 18 in |
| Seat width | 23 in |
| Overall height | 36.5 in (28.5 W x 27 D x 36.5 H in) |
| Weight | 11.9 lb |
| Packed size | Not published |
| Features | Patented frame-integrated lumbar support; padded lumbar cushion; steel-framed armrests |
| Replacement parts | Elite carry bag; upgraded cup holder and pocket |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 7
- Warranty (20%)
- 5
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 10
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Frame-integrated lumbar support plus a padded lumbar cushion.
- Steel-framed armrests and an 18-inch seat for pushing up to stand.
- STRONGBACK's guarantee explicitly covers Amazon purchases (2 years).
- 23-inch seat width and 36.5-inch overall height.
Where it falls short
- Rated to 300 lb, lower than the heavy-duty picks.
- Fabric coverage is limited to one year and rust is excluded.
- No replacement seat fabric listed.
Skip this if…
…you weigh close to 300 lb, since that is STRONGBACK's rating.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair
Rank 5

Best with a footrest
ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair
A steel-frame camp chair with an included footrest, a 30-inch backrest and ALPS's limited lifetime warranty, but ALPS rates it to only 225 lb.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Camp chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering) |
| Wear parts | ALPS lists an Escape Chair Kickstand Elbow and a replacement carry bag for the Escape. |
| Rated capacity | 225 lb (ALPS rating) |
| Frame | Powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester, as listed by Sportsman's Guide (ALPS does not state it) |
| Seat height | 17.5 in front / 14 in back |
| Seat width | 21 in (seat depth 18 in; backrest height 30 in) |
| Overall height | 41 in (32 W x 26 D x 41 H in), as listed by Sportsman's Guide |
| Weight | 10 lb |
| Packed size | 42 x 6 x 8 in |
| Features | Footrest included (15 x 24 x 26 in; "not intended for sitting"); adjustable armrests |
| Replacement parts | Escape Chair Kickstand Elbow; replacement carry bag |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 5
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Footrest included, and ALPS lists a replacement kickstand elbow for this model.
- Limited lifetime warranty from ALPS.
- 30-inch backrest and a 17.5-inch front seat height.
- 10 lb, lighter than most heavy-duty chairs here.
Where it falls short
- Rated to 225 lb by ALPS, the lowest capacity in this registry.
- ALPS does not publish the fabric; the 600D figure comes from a dealer listing.
- The seat slopes from 17.5 inches in front to 14 inches in back.
Skip this if…
…you weigh more than about 200 lb, since ALPS rates the Escape to 225 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair
Rank 6

Best rocking chair
ALPS Mountaineering Rocking Chair
A folding steel rocker with 600D polyester, rated to 300 lb and covered by ALPS's lifetime-of-the-product warranty, but it weighs 17.5 lb and folds to 47 inches long.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Rocking chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering) |
| Wear parts | ALPS lists no replacement parts for this model online; its warranty page says parts are sometimes available by phone. |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb (ALPS rating) |
| Frame | Pro-Tec powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester |
| Seat height | 21 in at the front, 16 in at the back |
| Seat width | 19 in (seat depth 18 in) |
| Overall height | Not published (backrest height 29 in) |
| Weight | 17 lb 8 oz |
| Packed size | 47 L x 24 W x 6 H in folded |
| Features | Locks when folded and when open; folds flat for storage |
| Replacement parts | None listed for this model (ALPS parts page lists bags, table legs and tops) |
How the 6.2 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 7
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 3
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 6
- Portability (15%)
- 3
What the specs support
- 600D polyester and a Pro-Tec powder-coated steel frame (ALPS)
- ALPS warrants against defects for the life of the product
- Locks both folded and open; 21-inch front seat height
Where it falls short
- 17 lb 8 oz, the heaviest single rocker here
- Folds to 47 x 24 x 6 inches, long for a car trunk
- 19-inch seat width (ALPS), just under the 20-inch mark the fit score rewards
Skip this if…
…you have to carry the chair more than a short walk from the car.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ALPS Mountaineering Rocking Chair
Rank 7

Best premium mesh chair
YETI Trailhead Camp Chair
YETI rates its FlexGrid mesh to 500 lb and backs the chair with a five-year warranty, but it weighs 13.3 lb and YETI lists no replacement parts.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Camp chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Five-year warranty (YETI) |
| Wear parts | YETI lists no replacement parts for the Trailhead; its FAQ says to contact YETI's Outfitter team to help with repairs. |
| Rated capacity | 500 lb (YETI: FlexGrid fabric "supports up to 500 lbs") |
| Frame | Crossover frame; YETI does not state the material (powder-coated steel legs, as reported by OutdoorGearLab) |
| Fabric | FlexGrid fabric, UV resistant (denier not published) |
| Seat height | 16.75 in, as reported by CleverHiker (YETI does not publish it) |
| Overall height | 36.3 in (24.0 W x 29.9 D x 36.3 H in) |
| Weight | 13.3 lb |
| Packed size | 43.0 x 9.0 x 11.75 in (folded, H x W x D) |
| Replacement parts | None listed; repairs through YETI's Outfitter team on request |
How the 5.9 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 8
- Warranty (20%)
- 7
- Repairability (15%)
- 3
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 5
- Portability (15%)
- 4
What the specs support
- Rated to 500 lb by YETI.
- Five-year warranty, longer than the one-year terms Coleman, Kijaro and Kelty publish, though ALPS and Guide Gear go further with lifetime coverage.
- 36.3-inch overall height gives a taller back than a standard quad chair.
- FlexGrid fabric is UV resistant, per YETI.
Where it falls short
- YETI publishes no seat height; CleverHiker reports 16.75 inches, lower than most heavy-duty quads.
- No replacement parts listed; a torn seat means a repair request, not a part order.
- 13.3 lb, and premium-priced for its class.
Skip this if…
…you need a seat 17 inches or higher to get up easily, since the reported seat height is 16.75 inches.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to YETI Trailhead Camp Chair
Rank 8

Best reclining chair
Kelty Deluxe Lounge Chair
A three-position reclining camp chair rated to 400 lb by Kelty, with quilted 600D polyester and a 19-inch seat height; Kelty covers furniture for one year.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Recliner |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | One-year warranty on Kelty furniture |
| Wear parts | Kelty lists no replacement parts for this chair; its in-house team repairs gear, with out-of-warranty repairs at a reasonable rate. |
| Rated capacity | 400 lb (Kelty rating) |
| Frame | Powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester, quilted ("Quilted = padded comfort") |
| Seat height | 19 in |
| Overall height | 37.5 in (37.5 H x 25 W x 24.5 L in); back height from seat 20.5 in |
| Weight | 10 lb 5 oz |
| Packed size | 9 x 9 x 39.5 in |
| Features | Three-position recline; adjustable armrests; two insulated, adjustable beverage holders |
| Replacement parts | None listed; in-house repair service |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 8
- Warranty (20%)
- 3
- Repairability (15%)
- 3
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Three recline positions and a 19-inch seat height.
- Rated to 400 lb by Kelty, with 600D quilted polyester.
- Kelty runs an in-house repair team for out-of-warranty damage.
Where it falls short
- One-year warranty on furniture.
- No replacement parts listed.
- Seat width not published.
Skip this if…
…you want a warranty longer than one year.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kelty Deluxe Lounge Chair
Buyer's guide: choosing a folding camping chair that lasts
Start with the rating, then leave headroom
The ratings on this page run from 225 lb (ALPS Escape) to 800 lb (King Kong). Every one is the maker's own figure, and none of the product pages we read names the test behind it. You also don't sit still: you drop into a chair, lean back and shift your weight. So don't buy a chair rated at or just above your weight. How the ratings work, and what the word “stationary” means when a maker adds it, is in our guide to camping chair weight limits.
Read the fabric line on the spec sheet
Six of the eight makers publish a 600D (600-denier) polyester seat, and an ALPS dealer lists the same fabric for the Escape. Denier is a measure of yarn weight, and a maker that publishes it is telling you something checkable. YETI publishes none for its FlexGrid fabric, and our rubric doesn't give a fabric bonus for a number nobody printed.
Read the warranty's exclusions, not just its length
A “lifetime” label hides a lot. ALPS excludes UV damage and burns. STRONGBACK limits fabric coverage to one year. YETI excludes punctures. Kelty's one-year furniture term is short, but its repair service keeps going after it ends. Where you buy matters too: STRONGBACK cuts Amazon purchases to 2 years and doesn't cover third-party Amazon resellers. Every brand's terms are quoted side by side in our camping chair warranty comparison.
Check whether a new seat exists before you need one
Seat fabric fails first on most chairs, and Helinox is the only maker in our chair research that sells a replacement seat for its chairs. ALPS, STRONGBACK and GCI sell bags and small parts. YETI, NEMO, Kelty and Big Agnes offer repairs or parts on request. Coleman, Guide Gear, LivingXL and Kijaro list no chair parts at all. If your seat has already torn, our guide to fixing a torn camping chair covers the repair.
Pick a seat height you can get out of
Front seat heights here run from 16.75 inches (the YETI, as reported by CleverHiker) to 21 inches at the front edge of the ALPS Rocking Chair, and two chairs slope back from there (the Escape drops to 14 inches at the rear). A higher seat is easier to rise from; a lower one puts you closer to a fire ring. If standing up is the hard part, look at seat height and rigid armrests before anything else.
Measure the trunk, then weigh the carry
Packed length matters more than people expect: the King Kong packs to 40 inches, the YETI folds to 43 and the ALPS Rocking Chair to 47. Weight runs from 1 lb 15 oz (Helinox) to 17 lb 8 oz (ALPS Rocking Chair). A heavy chair is fine at a drive-up site and miserable across a parking lot to a tournament field.
Then look after it
Warranties don't cover wear, sun or storage damage, so the chair's real lifespan is partly up to you. What wears out first, and how warranty length hints at expected life, is covered in how long camping chairs last.
How we scored this
Products we claim to have tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they sat in every chair on the list for a season. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's rated capacity, frame, fabric, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether seat fabric, cot canvas, feet, valves and legs are sold as replacement parts; and score all of it on a published rubric where durability and warranty carry half the weight. Every spec links to where it came from.
Scores are computed from that documented research with fixed bands, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its bands are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Specs and warranty terms read 2026-09-22.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best camp chair to buy?
For most buyers, the ALPS Mountaineering King Kong: ALPS rates it to 800 lb, it uses 600D polyester on a powder-coated steel frame, and it has a limited lifetime warranty. It scores 7.6 of 10 on our Built-to-Last rubric, the highest of any chair we scored.
How much weight can a folding camping chair hold?
It depends entirely on the model. The chairs on this page are rated from 225 lb (ALPS Escape) to 800 lb (ALPS King Kong) by their makers, and the highest rating we found anywhere is LivingXL's 1,000 lb, which DXL labels a stationary capacity.
Are camping chairs waterproof?
Don't count on it. GCI, for one, says its chairs aren't made with weatherproof materials and that prolonged sun and rain can degrade the fabric, and ALPS's warranty excludes UV and storm damage. Dry a chair before you bag it and store it out of the weather.
How tall are camping chairs?
Front seat heights on this list run from 16.75 inches (YETI Trailhead, as reported by CleverHiker) to 21 inches at the front edge of the ALPS Rocking Chair. Overall heights run from 25.5 inches (Helinox Chair One) to 41 inches (ALPS Escape, per an ALPS dealer).
Which camping chair brands have a lifetime warranty?
Of the chairs on this page, ALPS Mountaineering (limited lifetime) and Guide Gear (Sportsman's Guide's Lifetime Guarantee on its house brand) publish lifetime terms. Helinox and YETI give 5 years, STRONGBACK 2 years on Amazon purchases, and Kelty 1 year on furniture.
Is the YETI Trailhead the best camping chair?
Not on our rubric. It scores 5.9 of 10: YETI's 500 lb rating and five-year warranty are strong, but YETI publishes no seat height or fabric denier, lists no replacement parts and excludes punctures from the warranty. The ALPS King Kong scores 7.6.
Did you test these chairs?
No. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Every score comes from the maker's published specs, written warranty and parts listings, and each figure links to its source in the tables and product cards.
Keep reading
Related on Seat & Stake
- Best heavy-duty camping chairsEvery chair rated 400 lb or more, ranked.
- ALPS King Kong vs YETI TrailheadThe top pick against the famous one, spec by spec.
- Best compact camping chairsChairs that pack small, led by the Helinox Chair One.
- Best camping chairs for bad backsLumbar support, seat height and arms to push from.
- Camping chair warranties, comparedEvery brand's terms, quoted and dated.
- How long do camping chairs last?What fails first and how to push it back.
Receipts
Sources
- ALPS Mountaineering — King Kong Chair product page and specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Warranty (limited lifetime; exclusions; replacement parts by phone) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Chair Replacement Bags (fits King Kong, Escape and other ALPS chairs) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Escape Chair product page and specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Furniture Parts (replacement bags, feet, Escape kickstand elbow, table parts) (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide (ALPS dealer) — ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair key specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Rocking Chair product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Helinox — Chair One product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Helinox — Warranty Policy (5-year) (read 2026-09-22)
- Helinox — Replacement Parts collection (seats, feet, cases by model) (read 2026-09-22)
- Helinox — FAQs (pole repair at service center, replacement seats) (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair, 500-lb. Capacity (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Guide Gear Oversized Club Camp Chair, 500-lb. Capacity (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Guide Gear Oversized Tall Director's Camp Chair, 500-lb. Capacity (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Satisfaction Guarantee (Lifetime Guarantee on Guide Gear branded merchandise) (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — STRONGBACK Elite product page and specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — Strongback Chair Guarantee (3-year direct, 2-year Amazon, fabric 1 year) (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — Elite Camping Chair Carry Bag (replacement bag) (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — Elite and Guru Upgraded Cup Holder and Pocket (read 2026-09-22)
- YETI — Trailhead Camp Chair product page, measurements and FAQ (read 2026-09-22)
- YETI — Chairs FAQ (Trailhead folded/unfolded dimensions, weight limit, chair weight) (read 2026-09-22)
- YETI — Warranty Information (five-year period for Trailhead Camp Chair and Hondo) (read 2026-09-22)
- CleverHiker — YETI Trailhead Camping Chair Review, Ian Krammer, May 8, 2025 (seat height) (read 2026-09-22)
- OutdoorGearLab — Yeti Trailhead Review, Trish Matheny, May 16, 2022 (frame material) (read 2026-09-22)
- Kelty — Deluxe Lounge Chair product page, materials and specs (read 2026-09-22)
- Kelty — Warranty & Repairs (furniture: one-year warranty; in-house repair) (read 2026-09-22)
- Coleman — Coleman Big & Tall Quad Camping Chair product page, SKU 2174440 (read 2026-09-22)
- Coleman — Limited Warranty Information (Camp Seating: 1 year) (read 2026-09-22)
- Coleman — Replacement Parts (tent, grill and stove, cooler, lighting parts only) (read 2026-09-22)
- DXL — Living XL 1000lb Chair, item X2400 (read 2026-09-22)
- DXL — LivingXL Return Policy (90-day returns; no product warranty stated) (read 2026-09-22)
- Kijaro — Dual Lock XXL Chair, 400 lb Weight Capacity product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Kijaro — Warranty/Returns (Kijaro Promise Program, one year) (read 2026-09-22)
- GCI Outdoor — Product Support FAQ (outdoor storage, materials) (read 2026-09-22)
- NEMO Equipment — The Adventure Forever Guarantee (lifetime warranty, repairs, spare parts) (read 2026-09-22)
- Big Agnes — Warranty Policy and Satisfaction Guarantee (read 2026-09-22)
We don't claim to have tested, owned or sat in these products. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Specs and rated capacities come from the maker's own product pages (or a named dealer's copy when the maker's site blocked us), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and any third-party observation is attributed to whoever made it. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so and it scores zero. Read the full method.