Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair A frame-integrated lumbar support, 18-inch seat height and steel-framed armrests on a 300 lb-rated steel chair with 600D fabric; the warranty is 2 years on Amazon purchases. | Best for bad backs overall2-yr warranty | 6.6out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair A 500 lb-rated steel quad chair with 600-denier polyester, a 23-inch seat 20 inches off the ground, 11.5 lb, and a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear from Sportsman's Guide. | Best high back for big framesLifetime warranty | 7.1out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Guide Gear Oversized Club Camp Chair A padded club-style camp chair rated to 500 lb, with 600-denier polyester, a 17.72-inch seat height and Sportsman's Guide's lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear. | Best padded backLifetime warranty | 6.9out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair A steel-frame camp chair with an included footrest, a 30-inch backrest and ALPS's limited lifetime warranty, but ALPS rates it to only 225 lb. | Best for putting your feet upLifetime warranty | 6.6out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Kelty Deluxe Lounge Chair A three-position reclining camp chair rated to 400 lb by Kelty, with quilted 600D polyester and a 19-inch seat height; Kelty covers furniture for one year. | Best for changing positions1-yr warranty | 5.8out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 6 | ![]() GCI Outdoor Stowaway Rocker Rated to 300 lb by GCI and folding flat to 3.5 inches thick, which GCI says is 35% more compact than its standard rocker, with extra-padded solid armrests and a 39-inch overall height. | Best rocker with solid arms3-yr warranty | 5.8out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 7 | ![]() Kijaro Dual Lock XXL Chair Kijaro rates the XXL to 400 lb with a 24-inch seat 19.5 inches off the ground and a 39-inch overall height, but the warranty is one year. | Best tall-backed quad chair1-yr warranty | 5.3out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, computed from published specs, quoted warranty terms and listed parts with the bands on our methodology page, not our own measurements. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

How we picked
We looked for four things a maker can put in writing: a named back support (a lumbar support, a padded back or a tall backrest), a seat at least 17 inches high, armrests described as rigid or solid, and a way to change position (recline, rocking or a footrest). Chairs with at least two of the four made the shortlist, and each was then scored on the same Built-to-Last rubric as every chair on the site, weighted toward rated capacity, fabric, warranty and parts. The bands are on our methodology page, and the rest of the category is on the camping chairs hub.
The ranking follows the overall score with one exception: the STRONGBACK Elite is ranked first, above two Guide Gear chairs that outscore it overall, because it is the only chair here with a lumbar support its maker names, the feature published guidance puts first, and it pairs that with rigid arms and a perfect fit score. The reasons are laid out below. Nothing on this page is medical advice, and we don't claim any chair treats back pain. If your back hurts, a doctor or physical therapist knows your spine; we only know the spec sheets.
The numbers, side by side
The rows that matter most for a sore back come first: rating, seat height, overall height and the support features the maker lists. Every value links to its source.
What “good back support” means in published guidance
None of the chair makers on this page cites an ergonomics standard, so we looked for the clearest public guidance on what a supportive chair looks like. The best we found is OSHA's computer workstation guidance on chairs. It's written for office chairs, not folding camp chairs, but the principles are about the human body, and we think they carry over.
Two lessons follow for camp chairs. First, a lumbar support the maker names beats a vague promise of comfort. Second, higher isn't automatically better: the right seat height is the one that lets your feet sit flat, which depends on your legs. OSHA's guidance also asks that armrests be wide enough to allow easy entrance and exit from the chair, which matters when standing up is the hard part.
The four-feature check
Here is how each pick meets the four features, using only what the maker (or, for the Escape's overall height, an ALPS dealer) publishes. “Not stated” means the page doesn't say, not that the feature is absent.
| Chair | Named back support | Seat 17 in or higher | Rigid or solid arms | Change position |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| STRONGBACK Elite | Frame-integrated lumbar support, padded lumbar cushion | Yes | Yes, steel-framed | No |
| Guide Gear Oversized Camp | Padding on neck and shoulders, high back | Yes | Not stated | No |
| Guide Gear Oversized Club | Extra-padded back and sides, high back | Yes | Not stated | No |
| ALPS Escape | 30-inch backrest | Front edge only | Not stated (adjustable) | Footrest |
| Kelty Deluxe Lounge | Quilted, padded back, high back | Yes | Not stated (adjustable) | Three-position recline |
| GCI Stowaway Rocker | High back, mesh backrest | Yes | Yes, extra-padded solid | Spring-action rocking |
| Kijaro Dual Lock XXL | High back, “no-sag” seat | Yes | Not stated | No |
Why the STRONGBACK Elite ranks first
The STRONGBACK Elite is built around the thing OSHA puts first. STRONGBACK describes a patented frame-integrated support system, adds a padded lumbar cushion, and frames the armrests in steel so you have something solid to push against when you stand. The seat is 23 inches wide and 18 inches off the ground, the chair stands 36.5 inches tall, and the seat fabric is 600D polyester on a powder-coated steel frame. It's the only camp chair we score with a perfect 10 for fit and comfort.
STRONGBACK says the 18-inch seat height is ideal for users 5'8” and taller. That fits OSHA's point about seat height: a shorter camper may find the feet don't sit flat. If standing up is your main struggle and you're tall, compare seat heights in our high-seat camping chair picks, which run up to 22 inches.
Its overall score of 6.6 is lower than the two Guide Gear chairs below it, and the reasons are durability, not comfort. STRONGBACK rates the Elite to 300 lb, against 500 lb for both Guide Gears. Its warranty is 2 years on purchases sold by Amazon or STRONGBACK (3 years bought direct), with fabric limited to one year and rust excluded, and third-party Amazon resellers aren't covered at all. STRONGBACK does list a replacement Elite carry bag and an upgraded cup holder and pocket, and its warranty says it will replace, repair or send parts for covered frame, hinge and fabric defects.
Padded high backs for bigger frames
If you weigh more than about 250 lb, the STRONGBACK's 300 lb rating leaves thin margin. The Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair is the better fit: Guide Gear rates it to 500 lb, the seat is 20 inches high and 23 inches wide, the chair stands 39 inches tall, and it has padding on the neck and shoulders. It scores 7.1 overall, the highest on this page, thanks to 600-denier polyester and the Lifetime Guarantee that Sportsman's Guide puts on its Guide Gear brand. What it lacks is a named lumbar support and rigid arms, and no replacement parts are listed.
The Guide Gear Oversized Club Chair (6.9) trades a lower 17.72-inch seat for extra padding on the back and sides, with the same 500 lb rating, 600-denier fabric and guarantee. It weighs 13.12 lb. The guarantee page doesn't say whether a Guide Gear chair bought on Amazon qualifies, so keep the receipt and check the seller. Both Guide Gear chairs also rank in our heavy-duty camping chair picks.
The Kijaro Dual Lock XXL (5.3) is the tall back that locks shut: a 24-inch seat 19.5 inches high, a 38.98-inch overall height, a 400 lb rating and what Kijaro calls no-sag seating. The one-year warranty excludes UV damage, and Kijaro publishes no fabric denier.
Recline, rock or put your feet up
OSHA's office-chair guidance also calls for a backrest that can recline at least 15 degrees from vertical. Three picks let you change position in some way, which the fit score counts as a support feature.
The Kelty Deluxe Lounge (5.8) reclines to three positions, with quilted, padded 600D polyester, a 19-inch seat and a 37.5-inch overall height, and Kelty rates it to 400 lb. Kelty's furniture warranty is one year, but its in-house repair team handles damage outside it for a fee.
The GCI Stowaway Rocker (5.8) is the only chair on this page other than the STRONGBACK with arms its maker calls solid: GCI's chart lists extra-padded solid armrests, a 19.5-inch seat and a 39-inch overall height, with spring-action rocking. GCI rates it to 300 lb and warrants it for 3 years, but says sun damage and extended exposure to the elements void the warranty, and sells no replacement seat. It ties the Kelty at 5.8 and ranks behind it on build durability. It ticks all four boxes in the check above, but its back support is a mesh backrest with no padding or lumbar feature named, so it ranks on its score. More rockers are compared in our rocking camping chair picks.
The ALPS Escape (6.6) is the one chair here that comes with a footrest, and it has a 30-inch backrest and ALPS's limited lifetime warranty. Two cautions: ALPS rates it to only 225 lb, and the seat slopes from 17.5 inches at the front to 14 inches at the back, so you sit low and reclined. Other chairs with a footrest are in our camping chairs with footrest picks.
Two famous chairs we left off, and why
The ALPS King Kong tops our overall camping chair ranking, but for a bad back ALPS publishes only a 22-inch backrest, no overall height, no padding claim and no lumbar feature. Its 19-inch seat and 800 lb rating are excellent; the back support isn't documented.
The YETI Trailhead stands 36.3 inches tall, which earns it a high-back point, but YETI publishes no seat height (CleverHiker reports 16.75 inches, under our 17-inch line), its armrests are tensioned fabric, and it has no named lumbar support. The full case is in our YETI Trailhead review.
Your back after dark
A good chair helps for an evening; a bad night on the ground undoes it. If back pain is why you're shopping, the sleep side deserves the same scrutiny. Our camping cots for bad backs picks rank cots on height off the ground, surface and rated capacity, and our camping mattresses for back pain picks rank pads and mattresses on thickness, R-value and build.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best for bad backs overall
STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair
A frame-integrated lumbar support, 18-inch seat height and steel-framed armrests on a 300 lb-rated steel chair with 600D fabric; the warranty is 2 years on Amazon purchases.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Camp chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | 2-year warranty on Amazon purchases; 3-year limited when bought direct (fabric limited to 1 year) |
| Wear parts | STRONGBACK lists a replacement Elite carry bag and an upgraded cup holder and pocket for the Elite; the warranty covers replacement parts for frame, hinge and fabric defects. |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb (STRONGBACK rating) |
| Frame | Black powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester |
| Seat height | 18 in |
| Seat width | 23 in |
| Overall height | 36.5 in (28.5 W x 27 D x 36.5 H in) |
| Weight | 11.9 lb |
| Packed size | Not published |
| Features | Patented frame-integrated lumbar support; padded lumbar cushion; steel-framed armrests |
| Replacement parts | Elite carry bag; upgraded cup holder and pocket |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 7
- Warranty (20%)
- 5
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 10
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Frame-integrated lumbar support plus a padded lumbar cushion.
- Steel-framed armrests and an 18-inch seat for pushing up to stand.
- STRONGBACK's guarantee explicitly covers Amazon purchases (2 years).
- 23-inch seat width and 36.5-inch overall height.
Where it falls short
- Rated to 300 lb, lower than the heavy-duty picks.
- Fabric coverage is limited to one year and rust is excluded.
- No replacement seat fabric listed.
Skip this if…
…you weigh close to 300 lb, since that is STRONGBACK's rating.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to STRONGBACK Elite Camping Chair
Rank 2

Best high back for big frames
Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair
A 500 lb-rated steel quad chair with 600-denier polyester, a 23-inch seat 20 inches off the ground, 11.5 lb, and a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear from Sportsman's Guide.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Heavy-duty chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Lifetime Guarantee on Guide Gear (Sportsman's Guide) |
| Wear parts | Sportsman's Guide lists no replacement parts for this chair. |
| Rated capacity | 500 lb (Guide Gear rating) |
| Frame | Steel tube |
| Fabric | 600-denier polyester |
| Seat height | 20 in |
| Seat width | 23 in (seat 19 x 23 in W) |
| Overall height | 39 in (36 x 24 x 39 in) |
| Weight | 11.5 lb |
| Packed size | Not published |
| Features | Padding on neck and shoulders; hanging storage pouches; zip pocket in armrest |
| Replacement parts | None listed |
How the 7.1 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 9
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 0
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- 500 lb rating, 600-denier polyester and a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear.
- 20-inch seat height and 23-inch seat width.
- 11.5 lb, lighter than the other 500 lb chairs in this registry.
Where it falls short
- The guarantee is published on Sportsman's Guide's own site and does not say whether Amazon purchases qualify.
- No replacement parts listed.
- Packed size not published.
Skip this if…
…you need a guaranteed repair path, since no parts are listed for this chair.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair
Rank 3

Best padded back
Guide Gear Oversized Club Camp Chair
A padded club-style camp chair rated to 500 lb, with 600-denier polyester, a 17.72-inch seat height and Sportsman's Guide's lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Heavy-duty chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Lifetime Guarantee on Guide Gear (Sportsman's Guide) |
| Wear parts | Sportsman's Guide lists no replacement parts for this chair. |
| Rated capacity | 500 lb (Guide Gear rating) |
| Frame | Steel |
| Fabric | 600-denier polyurethane-coated polyester |
| Seat height | 17.72 in |
| Seat width | Seat dimensions 20 x 21 in |
| Overall height | 37 in (34 x 25 x 37 in) |
| Weight | 13.12 lb |
| Packed size | 11 x 12.6 x 42.1 in |
| Features | Extra-padded back and sides; cup holder; mesh pocket |
| Replacement parts | None listed |
How the 6.9 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 9
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 0
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 4
What the specs support
- Rated to 500 lb with 600-denier coated polyester.
- Sportsman's Guide publishes a lifetime guarantee on Guide Gear against defects.
- Extra-padded back and sides, 37-inch overall height.
Where it falls short
- The guarantee is published on Sportsman's Guide's own site and does not say whether Amazon purchases qualify.
- No replacement parts listed.
- 13.12 lb and 42 inches long packed.
Skip this if…
…you want replacement parts on hand, since none are listed for this chair.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Guide Gear Oversized Club Camp Chair
Rank 4

Best for putting your feet up
ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair
A steel-frame camp chair with an included footrest, a 30-inch backrest and ALPS's limited lifetime warranty, but ALPS rates it to only 225 lb.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Camp chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering) |
| Wear parts | ALPS lists an Escape Chair Kickstand Elbow and a replacement carry bag for the Escape. |
| Rated capacity | 225 lb (ALPS rating) |
| Frame | Powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester, as listed by Sportsman's Guide (ALPS does not state it) |
| Seat height | 17.5 in front / 14 in back |
| Seat width | 21 in (seat depth 18 in; backrest height 30 in) |
| Overall height | 41 in (32 W x 26 D x 41 H in), as listed by Sportsman's Guide |
| Weight | 10 lb |
| Packed size | 42 x 6 x 8 in |
| Features | Footrest included (15 x 24 x 26 in; "not intended for sitting"); adjustable armrests |
| Replacement parts | Escape Chair Kickstand Elbow; replacement carry bag |
How the 6.6 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 5
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Footrest included, and ALPS lists a replacement kickstand elbow for this model.
- Limited lifetime warranty from ALPS.
- 30-inch backrest and a 17.5-inch front seat height.
- 10 lb, lighter than most heavy-duty chairs here.
Where it falls short
- Rated to 225 lb by ALPS, the lowest capacity in this registry.
- ALPS does not publish the fabric; the 600D figure comes from a dealer listing.
- The seat slopes from 17.5 inches in front to 14 inches in back.
Skip this if…
…you weigh more than about 200 lb, since ALPS rates the Escape to 225 lb.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair
Rank 5

Best for changing positions
Kelty Deluxe Lounge Chair
A three-position reclining camp chair rated to 400 lb by Kelty, with quilted 600D polyester and a 19-inch seat height; Kelty covers furniture for one year.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Recliner |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | One-year warranty on Kelty furniture |
| Wear parts | Kelty lists no replacement parts for this chair; its in-house team repairs gear, with out-of-warranty repairs at a reasonable rate. |
| Rated capacity | 400 lb (Kelty rating) |
| Frame | Powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | 600D polyester, quilted ("Quilted = padded comfort") |
| Seat height | 19 in |
| Overall height | 37.5 in (37.5 H x 25 W x 24.5 L in); back height from seat 20.5 in |
| Weight | 10 lb 5 oz |
| Packed size | 9 x 9 x 39.5 in |
| Features | Three-position recline; adjustable armrests; two insulated, adjustable beverage holders |
| Replacement parts | None listed; in-house repair service |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 8
- Warranty (20%)
- 3
- Repairability (15%)
- 3
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Three recline positions and a 19-inch seat height.
- Rated to 400 lb by Kelty, with 600D quilted polyester.
- Kelty runs an in-house repair team for out-of-warranty damage.
Where it falls short
- One-year warranty on furniture.
- No replacement parts listed.
- Seat width not published.
Skip this if…
…you want a warranty longer than one year.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kelty Deluxe Lounge Chair
Rank 6

Best rocker with solid arms
GCI Outdoor Stowaway Rocker
Rated to 300 lb by GCI and folding flat to 3.5 inches thick, which GCI says is 35% more compact than its standard rocker, with extra-padded solid armrests and a 39-inch overall height.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Rocking chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | 3-year limited warranty (GCI Outdoor) |
| Wear parts | GCI sells a universal Carry Strap/Handle for most of its chairs; seat fabric and frame parts are not sold. |
| Rated capacity | 300 lb (GCI rating; an Amazon listing says 250 lb) |
| Frame | Sturdy, powder-coated steel |
| Fabric | Nylon mesh backrest; seat fabric denier not published |
| Seat height | 19.5 in (GCI chart: "Standard Height") |
| Overall height | 39 in open (23.7 W x 24.75 D x 39 H in) |
| Weight | 13.9 lb (spec table; GCI's feature list says 14 lb) |
| Packed size | Folds flat to 3.5 W x 24.75 D x 28 H in |
| Features | Spring-Action Rocking Technology, Infinity Comfort Edge seat, extra-padded solid armrests, carry handle and shoulder strap, side caddy, phone pocket |
| Replacement parts | Carry Strap/Handle only ("compatible with most GCI Outdoor chairs") |
How the 5.8 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 6
- Warranty (20%)
- 5
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 8
- Portability (15%)
- 4
What the specs support
- 300 lb GCI rating, 50 lb more than the standard Freestyle and Comfort Pro
- Folds flat to 3.5 inches thick and 28 inches tall
- Extra-padded solid armrests, 19.5-inch seat and 39-inch overall height
Where it falls short
- 13.9 lb, one of the heavier single rockers here
- Narrowest open width of these GCI rockers at 23.7 inches
- No replacement seat fabric or frame parts from GCI
Skip this if…
…you want the lightest rocker to carry, since the 13.9 lb weight buys the flat fold and 300 lb rating.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GCI Outdoor Stowaway Rocker
Rank 7

Best tall-backed quad chair
Kijaro Dual Lock XXL Chair
Kijaro rates the XXL to 400 lb with a 24-inch seat 19.5 inches off the ground and a 39-inch overall height, but the warranty is one year.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Heavy-duty chair |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | One year, Kijaro Promise Program |
| Wear parts | Kijaro lists no replacement parts; it says items outside the one-year warranty may qualify for paid repairs after evaluation. |
| Rated capacity | 400 lb (Kijaro rating) |
| Frame | Coated steel |
| Fabric | Diamond ripstop polyester (denier not published) |
| Seat height | 19.5 in |
| Seat width | 24 in (seat depth 18 in) |
| Overall height | 38.98 in (open size 27.8 L x 29.13 W x 38.98 H in) |
| Weight | 11.8 lb |
| Packed size | Not published |
| Features | Dual Lock (locks open and closed); no-sag seating; organizer |
| Replacement parts | None listed; paid repairs after evaluation outside warranty |
How the 5.3 score breaks down
- Build durability (30%)
- 7
- Warranty (20%)
- 3
- Repairability (15%)
- 3
- Fit & comfort (20%)
- 7
- Portability (15%)
- 5
What the specs support
- Rated to 400 lb by Kijaro.
- 19.5-inch seat height and 24-inch seat width.
- 38.98-inch overall height, one of the taller backs among quad-style chairs here.
Where it falls short
- One-year warranty that excludes UV damage.
- No replacement parts listed.
- Kijaro publishes no fabric denier and no packed size.
Skip this if…
…you want a multi-year warranty, since Kijaro covers it for one year.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Kijaro Dual Lock XXL Chair
Buyer's guide: choosing a camp chair when your back is the problem
Look for support the maker names
“Comfortable” and “supportive” cost a copywriter nothing. “Frame-integrated lumbar support,” “padded lumbar cushion,” “extra-padded back” and a published backrest or overall height are checkable. If a chair you already own has no lumbar support, OSHA's suggestion of a rolled towel or a removable back cushion is worth trying before you buy anything.
Match the seat height to your legs
Use OSHA's test: feet flat on the ground, the back of the knee slightly higher than the seat. Seats on this page run from 17.5 inches (the Escape's front edge) to 20 inches (Guide Gear Oversized Camp). Taller campers usually want the upper end; shorter campers can find a 20-inch seat leaves their feet dangling. Measure from the floor to the back of your knee before you order.
Rigid arms make standing easier
Fabric-sling armrests move when you push on them. Among these picks, only the STRONGBACK (steel-framed) and the GCI Stowaway (extra-padded solid) have arms their makers describe as rigid or solid. The Escape and Kelty have adjustable arms, and the Guide Gear and Kijaro pages don't describe the arms' construction.
Don't trade durability for comfort
A supportive chair that fails in a season fails your back too. Check the rating against your weight with margin to spare: 225 lb (Escape), 300 lb (STRONGBACK, GCI Stowaway), 400 lb (Kelty, Kijaro) and 500 lb (both Guide Gears). Then check the warranty and its fabric term, because seat fabric is what stretches and tears. Every brand's terms are quoted in our camping chair warranty comparison.
Plan for the seat to wear
None of these seven makers lists a replacement seat for the chair on this page. When a seat starts to tear, a prompt patch keeps the support you bought; our guide to fixing a torn camping chair walks through it.
Weigh the carry honestly
A bad back and a heavy chair are a poor mix across a parking lot. Weights here run from 10 lb (ALPS Escape) and 10 lb 5 oz (Kelty) to 13.9 lb (GCI Stowaway). The Stowaway folds flat to 3.5 inches thick with a carry handle and shoulder strap, and the Kelty packs to 9 by 9 by 39.5 inches.
How we scored this
Products we claim to have tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they sat in every chair on the list for a season. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's rated capacity, frame, fabric, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether seat fabric, cot canvas, feet, valves and legs are sold as replacement parts; and score all of it on a published rubric where durability and warranty carry half the weight. Every spec links to where it came from.
Scores are computed from that documented research with fixed bands, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its bands are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Specs and warranty terms read 2026-09-22; OSHA chair guidance read 2026-09-22.
Questions
Frequently asked
What kind of camping chair is best for a bad back?
One with a lumbar support the maker names, a seat height that lets your feet rest flat, and rigid armrests to push up from. The STRONGBACK Elite has all three: a frame-integrated lumbar support, an 18-inch seat and steel-framed armrests.
Are camping chairs bad for your back?
We can't answer that medically. OSHA's chair guidance says poorly supported postures may lead to back pain and fatigue, and it calls for a backrest with lumbar support. If yours has none, OSHA suggests a rolled towel or removable back cushion as a temporary fix. Ask a doctor or physical therapist about your own back.
What seat height is best if you have back pain?
The one that fits your legs. OSHA's rule is that your whole foot rests on the floor with the back of the knee slightly higher than the seat. STRONGBACK says its 18-inch seat suits users 5'8” and taller; seats on this page run from 17.5 to 20 inches.
Is a reclining or rocking camp chair better for a bad back?
We can't make a medical claim either way. OSHA's office-chair guidance does call for a backrest that reclines at least 15 degrees, and the Kelty Deluxe Lounge (three-position recline) and GCI Stowaway Rocker (spring-action rocking) let you change position through an evening.
What is the best camping chair for a bad back if I'm heavy?
The Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair: Guide Gear rates it to 500 lb, with a 20-inch seat, a 39-inch overall height and padding on the neck and shoulders. The STRONGBACK Elite has better back features but is rated to 300 lb.
Is the STRONGBACK Elite worth it?
If you weigh well under 300 lb and back support is the priority, it's the best-documented option we found, with the only perfect fit score among the camp chairs we've scored. Know the limits: 2 years of coverage on Amazon purchases sold by Amazon or STRONGBACK, and one year on the fabric.
Did you test these chairs?
No. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Every feature and figure comes from the maker's page or a named dealer, and the ergonomics guidance is OSHA's, linked in the sources.
Keep reading
Related on Seat & Stake
- Best high-seat camping chairsSeats up to 22 inches for easier standing.
- Best camping cots for bad backsGet off the ground at night, too.
- Best camping mattresses for back painThickness, R-value and build, scored.
- Best camping chairs with footrestEvery chair we verified with a foot or leg rest.
- Best camping chairsThe overall ranking, one chair per job.
- YETI Trailhead reviewA tall back, a low seat and no parts.
Receipts
Sources
- OSHA — Computer Workstations eTool: Workstation Components, Chairs (backrest and lumbar support, seat height, armrests) (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — STRONGBACK Elite product page and specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — Strongback Chair Guarantee (3-year direct, 2-year Amazon, fabric 1 year) (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — Elite Camping Chair Carry Bag (replacement bag) (read 2026-09-22)
- STRONGBACK — Elite and Guru Upgraded Cup Holder and Pocket (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Guide Gear Oversized Camp Chair, 500-lb. Capacity (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Guide Gear Oversized Club Camp Chair, 500-lb. Capacity (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Guide Gear Oversized Tall Director's Camp Chair, 500-lb. Capacity (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide — Satisfaction Guarantee (Lifetime Guarantee on Guide Gear branded merchandise) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Escape Chair product page and specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- Sportsman's Guide (ALPS dealer) — ALPS Mountaineering Escape Chair key specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Furniture Parts (replacement bags, feet, Escape kickstand elbow, table parts) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Chair Replacement Bags (fits King Kong, Escape and other ALPS chairs) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Warranty (limited lifetime; exclusions; replacement parts by phone) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — King Kong Chair product page and specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- Kelty — Deluxe Lounge Chair product page, materials and specs (read 2026-09-22)
- Kelty — Warranty & Repairs (furniture: one-year warranty; in-house repair) (read 2026-09-22)
- GCI Outdoor — Stowaway Rocker product page and spec comparison chart (read 2026-09-22)
- GCI Outdoor — Consumer Warranty Information (3-year limited warranty, exclusions, claim fees) (read 2026-09-22)
- GCI Outdoor — Carry Strap/Handle replacement part (read 2026-09-22)
- Kijaro — Dual Lock XXL Chair, 400 lb Weight Capacity product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Kijaro — Warranty/Returns (Kijaro Promise Program, one year) (read 2026-09-22)
- YETI — Trailhead Camp Chair product page, measurements and FAQ (read 2026-09-22)
- CleverHiker — YETI Trailhead Camping Chair Review, Ian Krammer, May 8, 2025 (seat height) (read 2026-09-22)
We don't claim to have tested, owned or sat in these products. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Specs and rated capacities come from the maker's own product pages (or a named dealer's copy when the maker's site blocked us), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and any third-party observation is attributed to whoever made it. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so and it scores zero. Read the full method.