Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL) TETON's cot pad wraps 2 inches of foam in a removable brushed canvas cover, sized 80 x 30 inches to its Universal XL cot, with an R-value of 5.5, a lifetime warranty and replacement covers sold by email. | Best pad made for a cotLifetime warranty | 7.9out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large) A 2-inch self-inflating foam pad with an R-value of 6 on 75D polyester, whose WingLock valve and patch kits Therm-a-Rest sells for do-it-yourself repair, backed by a limited lifetime warranty. | Best warmth and repair supportLifetime warranty | 8.1out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Exped MegaMat Self-Inflating Mat (LXW) Exped's 10 cm (3.9-inch) self-inflating foam mat carries an ASTM R-value of 8.1, a 197 x 77 cm (77.6 x 30.3-inch) surface in LXW and a 5-year warranty, with a repair kit and top-up pump in the box. | Best thick upgrade for a wide cot5-yr warranty | 7.7out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large) A 77 x 30 x 2-inch self-inflating foam pad (X-Large) with an R-value of 2.9, a lifetime warranty and a line-specific repair kit sold by ALPS. | Best cot-width pad with a lifetime warrantyLifetime warranty | 6.0out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular) Closed-cell foam at 14 oz: lay it under another pad to add R 2.0 of insulation and a puncture barrier, per Therm-a-Rest. | Best under-layerLifetime warranty | 5.6out of 10 | Check price on Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, computed from published specs, quoted warranty terms and listed parts with the bands on our methodology page, not our own measurements. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

How we picked
A cot pad has one job the cot can't do: insulate you from the air moving under the cot. So we looked for pads with a published R-value, a published width you can match to a cot, and a written warranty, and we checked that each one is listed on Amazon. Five made it. They're scored with the same mattress rubric as the rest of our camping mattress and cot pad hub: build durability (the shell fabric, plus a point for a foam core), the warranty, the parts the maker sells, fit and comfort from published measurements, then weight. The bands are on our scoring methodology page. We don't claim to have slept on any of these pads; every figure below links to the maker's page.
The five, side by side
Why a cot needs a pad
A cot lifts you off cold, wet or rocky ground, which is why people buy one. The trade is that the fabric you lie on is a single layer with open air beneath it, and that air carries heat away from your back all night. Your sleeping bag doesn't fix this, because the insulation under you is crushed flat by your weight. Therm-a-Rest makes the same point about sleeping bags on the ground: compressed insulation fails to create an insulating layer. That's why our guide to staying warm on a cot starts with the pad, not the bag.
R-value is the number that tells you how much a pad resists that heat loss, and higher is warmer. Sea to Summit's own buying guide suggests roughly R 0 to 2 for summer, 2 to 3 down to a light frost, 3 to 4 for a hard frost and 4 or more for winter. It also notes that R-value is cumulative: stack two pads and you add their ratings, which NEMO states the same way. Our camping mattress R-value guide explains the test behind the numbers, and cot vs sleeping pad covers when a cot is worth carrying at all.
Matching a pad to your cot
Width is where cot pads go wrong. A pad wider than the cot's sleeping surface curls up against the side rails; a pad much narrower than the cot slides around. Compare the published numbers before you buy, and measure between your cot's rails if you can. Here's how the pads line up against the cots we score in our best camping cots rankings, using each maker's published sleeping-surface size.
| Cot (published surface) | Pads that match on paper |
|---|---|
| TETON Outfitter XXL (80 x 35.5 in) | TETON Canvas Pad Universal XL (80 x 30), MegaMat LXW (77.6 x 30.3), Flexcore XL (77 x 30), BaseCamp XLarge (77 x 30) |
| Disc-O-Bed 2XL (85 x 39.5 in) | Any 30-inch pad above; the surface is wider than all of them |
| ALPS Escalade Cot XL (90 x 35 in) | Any 30-inch pad above |
| Coleman Pack-Away (80 x 32 in) | TETON Universal XL, MegaMat LXW, Flexcore XL, BaseCamp XLarge |
| Helinox Cot Max Convertible (83 x 29.5 in) | BaseCamp Large (77 x 25); a 30-inch pad is half an inch wider than the surface |
| ALPS Ready Lite (78 x 28 in) | BaseCamp Large (77 x 25) |
| Helinox Cot One Convertible (75 x 26 in) | BaseCamp Large is 25 in wide but 77 in long, 2 in longer than the surface; the Z Lite SOL Regular (72 x 20) fits inside |
The heavy-duty cots in our heavy-duty cot rankings are mostly 35 inches wide or more, so every 30-inch pad here fits on them with room at the rails. Lightweight cots are narrower, and that's where a 25-inch pad like the BaseCamp Large makes more sense than a cot-specific pad.
Why the ranking looks like this
The TETON Canvas Camp Pad ranks first even though the Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp scores 0.2 higher, and we want to be plain about why. The TETON pad is the only one here made for a cot: TETON sizes it to its cots and gives it loops and straps that attach to the cot's end bars, so it stays put when you roll over. Its 285D brushed canvas cover comes off, and TETON sells replacement covers, which is the part that wears. It carries a lifetime warranty. The costs are real: 2 inches of foam, 5.3 lb, replacement covers ordered by email, and no replacement foam at all.
The BaseCamp wins on paper for two reasons. Its R 6 is a touch warmer, and Therm-a-Rest has the best parts support of any pad we score: it sells a do-it-yourself WingLock valve repair kit plus home and field patch kits, and backs the pad with a limited lifetime warranty. If your cot is narrow, or you also want a pad you can use on the ground, buy the BaseCamp; the Large is 25 inches wide and the XLarge 30. If you want a pad that lives on a wide cot, buy the TETON.
The Exped MegaMat is the upgrade for a wide cot: 10 cm (3.9 in) of foam, an ASTM R-value of 8.1 and a 30.3-inch-wide LXW size, with a 5-year warranty and a field repair kit in the box. It weighs 5.7 lb. The ALPS Flexcore XL matches the TETON on width and warranty (ALPS covers it for the life of the product and sells a repair kit), but its R 2.9 is the lowest of the self-inflating pads here. The Z Lite SOL isn't a cot pad on its own. It's the cheapest insulation you can add under any of the others.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1

Best pad made for a cot
TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)
TETON's cot pad wraps 2 inches of foam in a removable brushed canvas cover, sized 80 x 30 inches to its Universal XL cot, with an R-value of 5.5, a lifetime warranty and replacement covers sold by email.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Cot pad |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (TETON) |
| Wear parts | TETON sells replacement camp pad covers through its Customer Experience team (by email); replacement foam is not sold. |
| Fabric | 100% polyester 285D brushed canvas (a feature panel on the same page says 300D polyester canvas) |
| Sleeping surface | Universal XL 80 x 30 in; Outfitter XXL 82 x 38 in; Adventurer 75 x 24 in |
| Thickness | 2 in foam (Universal XL); 2.5 in (Outfitter XXL) |
| R-value | 5.5 (Universal XL); 6.2 (Outfitter XXL); ASTM not stated |
| Weight | Universal XL 5.3 lb item weight; Outfitter XXL 7.7 lb |
| Packed size | Universal XL 31.5 x 10.25 x 10.25 in |
| Features | Slip-resistant loops and straps attach to the cot's end bars; removable cover; roll assister and carry handle; compression straps |
| Replacement parts | Replacement camp pad covers (order by email); 'we do not have replacement foam available for purchase' |
How the 7.9 score breaks down
- Build durability (25%)
- 9
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 7
- Fit & comfort (30%)
- 6
- Portability (10%)
- 8
What the specs support
- Sized to TETON's cots, with straps that attach to the cot's end bars.
- 285D brushed canvas cover over foam, and TETON sells replacement covers.
- Lifetime warranty; R-value of 5.5 (6.2 on the Outfitter XXL).
Where it falls short
- 2 inches of foam on the Universal XL.
- The Outfitter XXL size was sold out on TETON's site on 2026-09-22.
- Replacement foam is not sold, and covers are ordered by email rather than online.
Skip this if…
…your cot is narrower than 30 inches; the Universal XL pad is 30 inches wide.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to TETON Canvas Camp Pad (Universal XL)
Rank 2

Best warmth and repair support
Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)
A 2-inch self-inflating foam pad with an R-value of 6 on 75D polyester, whose WingLock valve and patch kits Therm-a-Rest sells for do-it-yourself repair, backed by a limited lifetime warranty.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Sleeping pad |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (Therm-a-Rest) |
| Wear parts | Therm-a-Rest sells a WingLock Valve Repair Kit plus Permanent Home and Instant Field repair kits, publishes how-to videos for each, and repairs pads for a fee. |
| Fabric | 75D polyester top and bottom |
| Sleeping surface | Large 77 x 25 in; Regular 72 x 20 in; XLarge 77 x 30 in |
| Thickness | 2 in (5 cm) |
| R-value | 6 (Therm-a-Rest tech specs; the product page FAQ cites the ASTM F3340-18 standard) |
| Weight | Large 3 lb 6 oz (1.53 kg); Regular 2 lb 8 oz; XLarge 4 lb |
| Packed size | Large 26 x 9 in; XLarge 31 x 9 in |
| Features | Self-inflating foam; WingLock valve; stuff sack included; made in USA |
| Replacement parts | WingLock Valve Repair Kit ('do-it-yourself kit for replacing a high-performance WingLock valve'), Permanent Home and Instant Field repair kits; how-to videos |
How the 8.1 score breaks down
- Build durability (25%)
- 8
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 10
- Fit & comfort (30%)
- 6
- Portability (10%)
- 8
What the specs support
- Therm-a-Rest sells the valve kit and patch kits, publishes how-to videos and repairs pads for a fee.
- R-value of 6 from 2 inches of self-inflating foam.
- 75D polyester on both faces and a limited lifetime warranty.
- XLarge size is 77 x 30 inches.
Where it falls short
- 2 inches thick, thin next to the 4-inch camp mattresses.
- Plain 75D polyester top rather than a knit.
- Stuff sack only; no pump sack in the box.
Skip this if…
…you sleep on the ground and want mattress-level cushioning; the BaseCamp is 2 inches thick.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest BaseCamp Sleeping Pad (Large)
Rank 3

Best thick upgrade for a wide cot
Exped MegaMat Self-Inflating Mat (LXW)
Exped's 10 cm (3.9-inch) self-inflating foam mat carries an ASTM R-value of 8.1, a 197 x 77 cm (77.6 x 30.3-inch) surface in LXW and a 5-year warranty, with a repair kit and top-up pump in the box.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Camping mattress |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | 5-year (Exped) |
| Wear parts | Exped includes a repair kit and sells a separate Field Repair Kit; no replacement valve is listed, and Exped repairs mats in its own workshops (non-warranty damage for a nominal charge). |
| Fabric | Top: recycled 50D tricot polyester, TPU laminate; bottom: recycled 75D polyester, TPU laminate |
| Sleeping surface | LXW 197 x 77 cm (77.6 x 30.3 in); also MW 183 x 65 cm (72.0 x 25.6 in) and LW 197 x 65 cm (77.6 x 25.6 in) |
| Thickness | 10 cm (3.9 in) of foam (Amazon listings say 4 in; maker figure used) |
| R-value | 8.1 (Exped lists it as 'R-Value (ASTM)') |
| Weight | LXW 2,600 g (5.7 lb); MW 2,070 g (4.6 lb); LW 2,275 g (5.0 lb) |
| Packed size | LXW 79 x 25 cm (31.1 x 9.8 in) |
| Features | 16 kg/m³ open-cell PU foam core; vertical side walls; two flat valves; Sidewinder Bag, repair kit and Top-Up Pump included |
| Replacement parts | Field Repair Kit (UV glue, TPU patches); no replacement valve listed; repairs in Exped's workshops |
How the 7.7 score breaks down
- Build durability (25%)
- 8
- Warranty (20%)
- 7
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (30%)
- 9
- Portability (10%)
- 8
What the specs support
- ASTM R-value of 8.1; only the MegaMat Max rates higher in this registry.
- LXW size is 30.3 inches wide with vertical side walls that keep the full width usable.
- Soft recycled tricot top over a 75D polyester base, with a repair kit and top-up pump included.
- Exped repairs mats in its own workshops, including non-warranty damage for a nominal charge.
Where it falls short
- 5-year warranty, shorter than the lifetime terms from Therm-a-Rest, Sea to Summit and NEMO.
- Exped lists no replacement valve.
- Exped publishes metric figures only; the 10 cm thickness is 3.9 inches, not the 4 inches retailers quote.
Skip this if…
…you want a lifetime warranty; Exped's term is 5 years.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Exped MegaMat Self-Inflating Mat (LXW)
Rank 4

Best cot-width pad with a lifetime warranty
ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large)
A 77 x 30 x 2-inch self-inflating foam pad (X-Large) with an R-value of 2.9, a lifetime warranty and a line-specific repair kit sold by ALPS.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Sleeping pad |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Lifetime (ALPS Mountaineering) |
| Wear parts | ALPS includes a repair kit and sells a Flexcore Repair Kit (7730083) separately; other parts by phone, availability not guaranteed. |
| Fabric | Polyester ripstop top, polyester taffeta bottom (denier not published) |
| Sleeping surface | X-Large 77 x 30 in; Long 77 x 25 in; Regular 72 x 20 in |
| Thickness | 2 in |
| R-value | 2.9 (ALPS; ASTM not stated) |
| Weight | X-Large 4 lb 9 oz; Long 3 lb 11 oz; Regular 2 lb 11 oz |
| Packed size | X-Large 31 x 7 in |
| Features | Jet Stream open-cell, hexagon-cored foam; double brass valves on XL; compression straps, stuff sack and repair kit included |
| Replacement parts | Flexcore Repair Kit (7730083): two 2-inch patches and adhesive |
How the 6.0 score breaks down
- Build durability (25%)
- 5
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 5
- Fit & comfort (30%)
- 4
- Portability (10%)
- 8
What the specs support
- 30 inches wide and 77 inches long in X-Large.
- Lifetime warranty, and ALPS sells a repair kit for the Flexcore line.
- Self-inflating foam core with double brass valves on the XL.
Where it falls short
- R-value of 2.9 is low for cold nights.
- 2 inches thick; fabric denier not published.
- No replacement valve listed.
Skip this if…
…you camp below freezing; ALPS rates it R 2.9.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to ALPS Mountaineering Flexcore Air Pad (X-Large)
Rank 5

Best under-layer
Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)
Closed-cell foam at 14 oz: lay it under another pad to add R 2.0 of insulation and a puncture barrier, per Therm-a-Rest.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Sleeping pad |
|---|---|
| Warranty (quoted) | Limited lifetime (Therm-a-Rest) |
| Wear parts | The maker lists no replacement parts for this model (it has no valve or fabric); Therm-a-Rest's warranty page offers fee-based repair by request. |
| Fabric | None: molded closed-cell crosslinked polyethylene foam with ThermaCapture reflective coating |
| Sleeping surface | Regular 72 x 20 in; Small 51 x 20 in |
| Thickness | 0.75 in (2 cm) |
| R-value | 2.0 (Therm-a-Rest; the product page FAQ cites the ASTM F3340-18 standard) |
| Weight | Regular 14 oz (0.41 kg); Small 10 oz |
| Packed size | Regular 20 x 5 x 5.5 in (accordion fold) |
| Features | 'Add 2.0 R-Value and protection from punctures when you layer the Z Lite SOL under another sleeping pad'; made in USA |
| Replacement parts | None listed (no valve or shell); fee-based repair by request |
How the 5.6 score breaks down
- Build durability (25%)
- 5
- Warranty (20%)
- 10
- Repairability (15%)
- 3
- Fit & comfort (30%)
- 3
- Portability (10%)
- 10
What the specs support
- Closed-cell foam cannot puncture or deflate.
- 14 oz and folds flat; Therm-a-Rest markets it as an under-layer that adds R 2.0.
- Limited lifetime warranty.
Where it falls short
- 0.75 inches thick and 20 inches wide: firm and narrow on its own.
- R-value of 2.0 alone is warm-weather insulation.
- The accordion fold is bulky compared with a rolled inflatable.
Skip this if…
…you want it as your only padding on a cold night; Therm-a-Rest rates it R 2.0 and pitches it for layering.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad (Regular)
How to choose a cot pad
Start with R-value, then width
Pick the R-value for the coldest night you expect, then pick the width that matches your cot. For three-season car camping, most people will be well served by the R 5.5 to 6 range here. For shoulder-season or winter trips, stack a closed-cell pad under your main pad rather than buying a single very thick one; the ratings add.
Foam beats air on a cot
Every pick here has a foam core, and that's deliberate: the foam keeps working as insulation even if the shell springs a leak, while an air-only pad with a leak leaves only fabric between you and the cot. If you want the full comparison, read self-inflating vs air mattress.
Check what the maker will sell you later
A cover, a valve and a patch kit are the parts that fail on a cot pad. TETON sells covers, Therm-a-Rest sells a valve kit and patch kits, ALPS and Exped sell or include patch kits. A pad whose maker sells nothing is a pad you replace.
Who should skip a cot pad
If you only camp on warm summer nights, the cot alone may be enough. If you want one bed that works both on a cot and on the ground, skip the cot-specific TETON and buy a general pad like the BaseCamp. And if your cot is a double, look at the double-width mattresses in our best camping mattresses rankings instead.
How we scored this
Products we claim to have tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they sat in every chair on the list for a season. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's rated capacity, frame, fabric, dimensions and weight; quote the warranty from the maker's own warranty page with the date we read it; check whether seat fabric, cot canvas, feet, valves and legs are sold as replacement parts; and score all of it on a published rubric where durability and warranty carry half the weight. Every spec links to where it came from.
Scores are computed from that documented research with fixed bands, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its bands are published.
Corrections & updates
- First published. Specs and warranty terms read 2026-09-22.
Questions
Frequently asked
Do you need a pad on a camping cot?
What R-value do I need for a cot pad?
Can I stack two pads on a cot?
How wide should a cot pad be?
Is a sleeping pad the same as a cot pad?
Which cot pad has the best warranty?
Keep reading
Related on Seat & Stake
- How to stay warm on a cotPads, layering and the air under your cot.
- Camping mattress R-value, explainedWhat the numbers mean and how they add.
- Cot vs sleeping padWhen a cot earns its space, and when a pad alone is enough.
- Best camping cotsThe cots these pads go on, ranked for durability.
- Best camping mattressesThicker self-inflating mattresses for the ground or a wide cot.
Receipts
Sources
- TETON — Canvas Camping Pads (Adventurer Regular / Universal XL / Outfitter XXL) product page (read 2026-09-22)
- TETON Help Center — Understanding R-Values for your TETON Camp Pad (read 2026-09-22)
- TETON Help Center — How do I attach my canvas camp pad to my cot? (read 2026-09-22)
- TETON Help Center — Can I purchase a new camp pad cover? (read 2026-09-22)
- TETON Help Center — Can I purchase just replacement foam for my Canvas camp pad? (read 2026-09-22)
- TETON — Warranty Policy (lifetime; Teton Everyday 90 days) (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — BaseCamp Sleeping Pad, Regular / Large / XLarge tech specs (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — WingLock Valve Repair Kit (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — Permanent Home Repair Kit (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — Instant Field Repair Kit (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — Therm-a-Rest Warranty (limited lifetime; repair-first; fee-based repairs; repair videos and kits) (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — Z Lite SOL Sleeping Pad, Small / Regular tech specs (read 2026-09-22)
- Exped — MegaMat product page, MW / LW / LXW specifications (read 2026-09-22)
- Exped — Field Repair Kit accessory page (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Flexcore Air Pad, Regular / Long / X-Large specs (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Air Pad Repair Kit (Flexcore Repair Kit 7730083) (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Warranty (life of the product; PVC Air Bed 1 year) (read 2026-09-22)
- TETON — Camp Cot with Pivot Arm (Outfitter XXL / XL / L) product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Disc-O-Bed — Disc-O-Bed 2XL Single Black product page (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Escalade Cot (Large / X-Large) product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Coleman — Pack-Away Camping Cot with Side Table product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Helinox — Cot Max Convertible product page (read 2026-09-22)
- ALPS Mountaineering — Ready Lite Cot product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Helinox — Cot One Convertible product page (read 2026-09-22)
- Sea to Summit — How to Choose a Sleeping Pad (R-value bands by season; "R-Value is cumulative") (read 2026-09-22)
- NEMO — New Standardized R-Value: NEMO's Involvement in and Approach to ASTM F3340 ("R-Value is additive") (read 2026-09-22)
- Therm-a-Rest (Cascade Designs) — What is R-Value? (compressed sleeping-bag insulation beneath you "would fail to create an insulative layer") (read 2026-09-22)
We don't claim to have tested, owned or sat in these products. Products we claim to have tested: 0. Specs and rated capacities come from the maker's own product pages (or a named dealer's copy when the maker's site blocked us), warranty terms from the maker's warranty page with the date we read it, and any third-party observation is attributed to whoever made it. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so and it scores zero. Read the full method.